Ruto rewards ODM 'rebel' MPs

President William Ruto. [PCS]

President William Ruto has rewarded ODM MPs in the Nyanza region perceived to be rebels with new administrative boundaries.

The ODM MPs perceived as rebels include Suba South’s Caroli Omondi, Paul Abuor (Rongo), Mark Nyamita (Uriri), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Elisha Odhiambo (Gem) and Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda.

In a Kenya Gazette notice dated February 14, 2024, the government created new sub-counties, divisions, locations and sub-locations.

But what has come out is that the ODM MPs perceived to be working with the government are the greatest beneficiaries.

Suba region of Homa Bay County got two sub-counties and a number of divisions, locations and sub-locations.

The sub-counties are Suba Central and Suba West. The divisions are Ruma/ Kaksingiri East, Kaksingiri West, Gwassi South and Gwassi North. Its locations are Rang’wa East, Nyamarandi, Sindo (formerly Kaksingiri Central, Kwirathia and Mwegemu and a number of sub-locations.
Elisha Odhiambo’s Gem constituency got nine locations and six sub-locations.

Gedeon Ochanda’s Bondo Constituency got two divisions, two locations and four sub-locations.
Paul Abuor’s Rongo Constituency got one division, seven locations and eight sub-locations.

Mark Nyamita’s Uriri Constituency has got two locations and three sub-locations.

Tom Ojienda’s Kisumu County got one division, six locations, and eleven sub-locations.
Suba South MP Caroli Omondi welcomed the move on the grounds that it will take government services closer to the people. 
Omondi said he is still working with other leaders to ensure new constituencies are created from Ndhiwa and Nyatike.
"We are collaborating with other leaders to lobby for the sub-division of Ndhiwa and Nyatike," Omondi said. 
He argued that the move will augment the process of creating new counties for minority communities in the Nyanza region. The communities are the Abasuba in Homa Bay and Kuria in Migori countries.
The MP argued that the Suba region deserves a county in the next boundaries review exercise.
"The original draft for the creation of counties showed that Suba ought to have been a county but we were shortchanged. We are going on with various activities so that Suba becomes a county in the next boundary review," Omondi said.
The MP said their collaboration with President Ruto's government is spurring economic development in Nyanza region.
"Today, we have construction of the first tarmacked is going on in Suba South Constituency and Magunga area has already been tarmacked," Omondi said.
Evance Oloo, a resident of Suba said the creation of new boundaries will ensure residents of the region get resources from the government more easily.
“Residents will also benefit from more government jobs than today. We now have four sub-counties where more youths will be recruited for government jobs,” Oloo said.
He said the area is vast and residents still struggle to get services from Mbita and Magunga towns for government services.