Babu Owino, David Gikaria retain Embakasi East and Nakuru East MP seats

Embakasi East MP-elect Babu Owino celebrates after receiving his certificate. [Denish Ochieng, Standard]

Members of Parliament Babu Owino and David Gikaria have retained their seats in the Embakasi East and Nakuru East parliamentary races respectively.

Gikaria who vied on a United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket was declared the Nakuru East MP-elect with 30,210 votes, against his closest rival Joel Kairo of Jubilee who got 25,965 votes.

In his acceptance speech, Gikaria thanked his party and supporters, whom he said did not disappoint.

He was seeking a third term.

“There is a winner and loser in every election. Let’s now get to work,” he said while celebrating with his family.

Nakuru East MP David Gikaria celebrates with his family after retaining his seat. [Harun Wathari, Standard]

The MP, not new to controversy was Tuesday arrested over assault claims.

Nakuru County Police Commander Peter Mwanzo said the MP allegedly stormed a polling station and assaulted a candidate.

The lawmaker would however be released on a Sh50,000 bond after spending a night in police custody.

Meanwhile, Paul Ongili alias Babu Owino was Thursday declared the Embakasi East MP-elect, after clinching the seat with over 65,000 votes.

Babu vied on an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party ticket, beating his closest competitor Francis Mureithi and four other candidates.