Kirinyaga among 39 counties under EU election observers

EU election observers Nicola Susse and Ladisav Garasy at the Kerugoya IEBC offices. [Jane Mugambi, Standard]

Kirinyaga county is on the list of 39 counties that will be under The European Union elections observers.

Tharaka Nithi and Embu are also on the list of the observer mission. The EU observers are monitoring 39 out of the 47 counties in next month's elections.

According to Ladislav Garassy, one of the long-term observers deployed in Kirinyaga County, a team of about 10 experts specialised in various disciplines have been in the country since June and have been tasked with overseeing the entire exercise. 

“This is one of the core teams that is sitting in Nairobi. It comprises experts drawn from security to electoral agencies and media fields. Its core mandate is to coordinate the entire exercise as well as receive reports from its agents working in the field.”

According to Garassy, the observers will be involved in assessing the three phases which are pre-election, election and post-elections as well as engaging various stakeholders in the course of their work.

 Garassy and his co-observer Nicola Susse were speaking when they met the Kirinyaga IEBC officials to assesses the state of preparedness.

“We are familiarising ourselves with the key players in this election as far as this region is concerned. We shall be meeting other different stakeholders like the clergy, minority groups, candidates, and political parties representatives in a bid to get their views and concerns about the elections," he said.

The observers noted that in a few days, another team of 24 short-term observers will be jetting into the country and later join them.