No new political coalition has been registered since 2017, says registrar

Anne Nderitu, Registrar of Political Parties. [Elvis Ogina, Standard]

Registrar of Political Parties (RPP) Anne Nderitu has said no new political coalition has been registered ahead of the General Election.

Nderitu said only coalition names have been reserved by politicians.

She said the existing coalitions were only those registered in the run-up to the 2017 elections.

“For now apart from the ones (coalitions) in 2017 of which one was dissolved, we don’t have any filed coalition in our office,” said Nderitu.

Currently, three major political formations have hinted at transforming into coalitions and have already reserved names. They include Kenya Kwanza Alliance comprising DP William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA), Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC) and Moses Wetangula’s Ford Kenya.

ODM leader Raila Odinga is fronting the Azimio la Umoja movement that brings together President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party and ODM.

Then there is the One Kenya Alliance comprising Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper, Gideon Moi’s Kanu, Martha Karua’s Narc Kenya and Cyrus Jirongo’s United Democratic Party (UDP).