Rallying: Six foreign drivers arrive for Top Fry Nanyuki Classic Safari Rally

Carl 'Flash' Tundo co-driven by Tim Jessop driving a Mitsubishi Evo 9 in action during the Guru Nanak Rally in Stoni Athi, Athi River area. He went to finish first overall. [Standard Sports]
Six foreign drivers have arrived for Top Fry Nanyuki Classic Rally Championships set for Mount Kenya on July 31 to August 4.

They are Briton Andrew Siddali and Alex Lee in a 2785cc Datsun 240z, South African Geoff Bell co-driven by Tim Challen in a 1971 2393cc Datsun 240z as well as Tanzanians Jayant Shah and Arshad Khan in a 3000cc Porsche.

Others are South African duo of Lola Verlaque and Edward Verlaque; Megan Verlaque with a co-driver to be named later and Oman’s Joey Ghose to be co-driven by Belgian Stephane Prevot.

The South Africans will drive 800cc Volkswagen Golf Mk1 while Ghose and Prevot have secured a 1970 1994cc Ford Escort Mk1.

Event director Ali Aljabri Saleh said 25 drivers are set for the five-day championships that covers 1500km.

 “Drivers are required to cover at least 150km daily for them to complete in the 1500km stretch within five days. The draws will be released this week,” Saleh told Standard Sports.

Two-time national rally champion Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo, who is fresh from a runner up spot in the Safari Rally Championships in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo102 a fortnight ago, has an insatiable hunger for glory.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.

“We are serious and determined to give a good shot. I will target top positions or even win it,” said Tundo, who will be co-driven by Tim Jessop.

Kabras rallying team have entered three drivers led by Safari Rally Champion Baldev Chager, Onkar Rai and his brother Tejveer Rai driving 30000cc Porsche 911. They will be co-driven by Ravi Soni, Gareth Dawe and Gavin Laurence respectively.

Onkar said he targets a top spot in the Nanyuki Rally Classics Championships. “Despite having crashed out of the Safari Rally, I am ready for the next competition,” he said.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
op Fry Nanyuki Classic Rally ChampionshipsBriton Andrew SiddaliAlex LeeGeoff BellTim ChallenJayant ShahArshad Khan