Uhuru Kenyatta appoints Chebukati as new IEBC Chairman

Incoming IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati. 

President Uhuru Kenyatta has formally appointed Wafula Chebukati as the chairman of the electoral agency.

President Kenyatta appointed him to take over at the helm of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) together with six new commissioners.

The appointment marks the exit of the Issack Hassan-led nine-member team that opted to resign and pave way for the new members after street protests staged by the Opposition.

The Opposition had expressed lack of confidence in the commissioners and demanded that they vacate office ahead of the August General Election.

"The reconstitution of this commission was a bi-partisan process that breathes new life into the electoral body while at the same time restoring confidence in its capacity and competence to deliver on its constitutional and statutory mandates," said the President in a statement issued to newsrooms by State House spokesman Manoah Esipisu.

Others who were also appointed by the President include Consolata Nkatha, Boya Molu, Roselyn Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Wanjala and Abdi Guliye.

The appointment comes after the National Assembly approved their nomination to succeed the Hassan-led team just seven months before the elections.

All coming in fresh without any electoral management background, the Chebukati-led commission will plunge into the ongoing mass voter registration.

The commissioners will oversee the process of procuring the Kenya Integrated Electoral Management System (KIEMS) and key electoral equipment in the August polls, to be done four months to the elections.

After taking oath of office before the Chief Justice, the commission is tasked with the process identifying the technological system that will integrate the Biometric Voter Registration (BVR), Electronic Voter Identification Devices (EVID), Electronic Results Transmission and Candidate Registration Systems.

Earlier on yesterday at State House Nairobi, President Kenyatta met the outgoing IEBC officials, and thanked them for their service to the nation.