You are here  » Home   » Nairobi

Inspector General of Police David Kimaiyo names 130 new OCPDs

By By CYRUS OMBATI | Published Wed, June 19th 2013 at 00:00, Updated June 19th 2013 at 15:26 GMT +3


Nairobi, Kenya: Inspector General of Police David Kimaiyo has again unilaterally appointed and posted 130 new Officers Commanding Police Division (OCPDs) without involving the National Police Service Commission.

The commission has protested the moves and alleged it is being systematically frustrated, saying they have virtually been reduced to bystanders.

Appearing before the Parliamentary Committee on Implementation of the Constitution only a day after Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph ole Lenku downplayed differences between Kimaiyo and the commission, Chairman Johnston Kavuludi maintained the recent deployment of County Commanders was done outside the process they had initiated.

He said police drivers and bodyguards assigned to him and the commissioners have also been withdrawn and no reasons given.

“It is intimidating when you wake up to find you have no driver since he has a letter recalling him back to the headquarters. It is a serious matter,” lamented Kavuludi.

In the changes, Kimaiyo appointed and posted Francis Sang as OCPD Ongata Rongai, Bernard Kibe (Koibatek), David Kerina (Kaloleni), John Ndungu (Eldoret), Paul Mukoma (Nairobi Airport), Abdi Galgalo (Ijara), Charles Okweya (Moi Airport), Adoninja Dianga (Railways Nairobi), Simon Rotich (Loyangalan), George Paukwaba (Kirinyaga West), Isaac Thuranira (Ruiru), Paul Kipsang (Kapu) and Richard Mukwete (Nyatike).

He also promoted more than 115 Superintendents of police and named them OCPDs. They include Johana Chebii (Rarieda), Alex Nganga (Subukia), Alfred Njiru (Nandi North), Evaline Njeru (Dep Airport), Alfred Mutua (Transmara), Robin Thuku (Tana Delta), Ken Wabuoba (Baringo North), David Kiprotich (Kahuro), Francis Maina (Mwatate), Michael Mbaluka (Limuru), L. Kiplimo (Kibwezi), Gregory Mutiso (Kandara), Charles Rotich (Magarini), Juma Ali (Kangema), Joseph Gichangi (Mutito) and Mildred Achieng (Kathiani).

All deputy OCPDs serving in Nairobi have been moved and promoted. They are Daniel Chacha (Thika East), Charles Jebet (Kipipiri), Charles Mogere (Kwanza), Musembi Karuki (Kieni East), Joel Kiptum (Masinga), Chome Yawa (Kinangop), Kiragu Mugo (Mwala), Z Bitok (Kilungu), R. Ndiema (Kirinyaga Eeast), Samuel Mukuzi (Gatanga), Joseph Kiplimo (Nyandarwa West) and Kiplimo Kemboi (Kitui West).

The police boss made the changes days after he named 141 County commanders- 47 each from regular, Administration Police and CID who have since taken over the commands.

The commission had opposed the appointments terming them unconstitutional.

The commission had argued what the IG had done amounted to appointment which is their prerogative given the new commanders will have to be promoted and named to a new rank of Assistant Inspector General in line with the law.

The officials cited section 246 of the constitution which says the commission shall recruit and appoint persons to hold or act in offices in the service, confirm appointments, and determine promotions and transfers within the National Police Service and exercise disciplinary control over and remove persons holding or acting in offices within the

“The Commission may however delegate to the concerned Inspector-General the recruitment, appointment and promotion of police officers under the rank of sergeant,” adds the law.