Since 1901

List of MPs, senators who accompanied Ruto to Malala tournament

From left: Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala, DP William Ruto and former Sports CS Rashid Echesa. [Mumo Munuve, Standard]

A few minutes to 4pm Friday, Deputy President William Ruto’s helicopter landed at the Mumias Sports Complex, where Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala had organised a football match.

In tow, were senators Irungu Kang’ata (Murang’a) and Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho). Former Kakamega Senator Boni Khalwale was also part of the deputy president’s entourage.

Members of Parliament (MPs) who attended the tournament are Titus Khamala (Lurambi), Alfred Agoi (Sabatia), Charles Gimose (Hamisi) John Waluke (Sirisia), Benjamin Washiali (Mumias East), Didmus Barasa (Kimilili) and Beatrice Adagala (Vihiga Woman Representative).

Other notable figures present at the football tournament, christened Cleo Malala Super Cup, were former Sports Cabinet Secretary Rashid Echesa and United Democratic Alliance (UDA) vice-chairperson Seth Panyako.

Malala organised the football match to counter the Bukhungu II meeting, which had been assembled by the Secretary-General of the Central Organization of Trade Unions, Francis Atwoli.

Atwoli endorsed a Raila Odinga presidential bid, stating that he will rally the Luhya community behind the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) boss in next year’s presidential polls.