Mombasa County marks milestone in IDPA shooting

By Caroline Obuya: Tuesday, September 3rd 2019 at 08:56 GMT +3 | Sports
Team members pose at the awarding ceremony [Photo/Caroline Obuya]

The National Gun Owners Association (NGAO-Kenya) marked a great milestone over the weekend by running the first ever sanctioned International Defensive Pistol Association (IDPA) match sponsored by Crown Paints PLC and SEAgas Ltd among others.

The shooting competition hosted at the Bamburi Rifle Club Range in Mombasa, attracted over 100 shooters drawn from the disciplined forces and civilian licensed firearm owners

Shooters had to contend with 8 courses of fire (COFs) in a variety of scenarios shooting on the move, while kneeling, from a vehicle and other technical scenarios as conducted in IDPA international matches.

Most shooters felt that the COF’s were extremely challenging so they had to put their act together physically and psychologically to be able to shoot on target.

One of the Match sponsors and participant Ibrahim Ndung’u of SEAgas Ltd in the middle flanked by Bamburi Rifle Club Vice Chairman Alfie Warshow and Match Director Sammy Onyango [Photo/Caroline Obuya]

Team Coast led by team captain Abdulhakim Daud lived up to its recently coined slogan “ We will show them dust”  by putting up a spirited fight which saw them clinch 8 trophies and emerge overall winners in several categories.

Omar Moosa clinched the Novice SSP Overall title and was promoted to the Marksman category. Ibrahim Ndung’u lifted the SSP Marksman overall title. Soi Kilonzo from Coast was 4th overall.

Get the latest sports news updates. Subscribe to our SMS sports service by texting 'SPORTS' to 22840.

Eng Robert Nyamongo bagged the ESP division overall winner, Eng Sammy Onyango the SSP division overall winner and Maheer Omar, at 19 years of age, took home the CCP division overall winner.

In the ladies category Belinda Akoth lifted the lady SSP Marksman overall trophy, whereas Elizabeth Cherono and Elizabeth Washiali followed closely in 2nd and 3rd position .

Overall  SSP Novice winner Omar Moosa [Photo/Caroline Obuya]

Leila Awale clinched the lady Novice overall title. In the Law enforcement category S/Sgt Stanslus Masha took the top honours followed by Cpl Benjamin Muema, both from the Kenya Prisons Staff Training College.

The event was graced by Kenya's ambassador to Cuba and patron of NGAO-K, Amb Anthony Muchiri, representatives from the Firearms Licensing Board  Vincent Wahoro and Martin Kilonzo, senior Mombasa county government executives, Bamburi Rifle Club Chairman Joe Leichum and vice chairman Alfie Warshow among others.

Belinda Akoth in action [Photo/Caroline Obuya]

Amb. Muchiri expressed his appreciation to the people and the county government of Mombasa for welcoming and supporting shooting sports in the county saying it is going to help in boosting sports tourism in the county

Also present was the minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment Mombasa County Mr. Fawz Rashid.

“We have taken the initiative to support sports tourism in the county to promote social cohesion and co-existence. Some of the games we are currently involved in are like beach boxing which we want to start at the English Point Marina, biking with Coast riders/bikers Association, rowing in partnership with the Kenya Rowing Club in Chuda, all these are aimed at promoting best practices in the county. Fawz said.

The Chairman of the National Gun Owners Association Anthony Wahome commended the NGAO-Kenya Management Committee and all partners for working together to make the event a huge success.

A number of shooters rained praises on Match director Sammy Onyango for helping transform the Bamburi Rifle Club Range into a world class range from one bay to a record 12 bays in one week.

Minister for Trade, Tourism and Investment Mombasa county Hon. Fawz Rashid with Chief Officer for Tourism Mombasa County Arch. Jaffar Suleiman Mosheh [Photo/Caroline Obuya]

 On his part Sammy Onyango said it has taken energy, dedication and sleepless nights with the assistance of Range officer Assad Kashmiri who won in the BUG category and Peter Njoroge among other members from Mombasa to transform the Bamburi shooting Range to what it now is!

Top 10 overall winners

  1. Robert Nyamongo     ESP        150.64
  2. Sammy Onyango       SSP        158.99
  3. Eric Wachira               ESP        164.16
  4. Soi Kilonzo                 ESP         185.27
  5. Daniel Kyallo             SSP          187.90
  6. Mohammed Omar   SSP         190.13
  7. Anthony Wahome    ESP        192.58
  8. Eric Ngumbi               SSP         200.75
  9. Mahir Omar               CCP        203.00
  10.  Peter Muli                 SPD        207.64




1) SSP novice overall winner - Moosa Omar

2) SSP novice 2nd place - Tony Munene

3) SSP novice 3rd place - Said Mohammed


3) CCP novice overall winner- Taib Muzahim


4) CCP novice 2nd place -Elias Kavwangi

5) CCP novice 3rd place- Patrick Makau



1) SSP marksman overall winner- Ibrahim Ndungu

2) SSP marksman 2nd place- Benjamin Muema

3) SSP marksman 3rd place - Belinda Akoth



1) ESP marksman- Dafton Mwitiki




1) SSP sharpshooter overall winner- Stanslus Masha

2) CCP sharpshooter overall winner- Peter Njoroge

3) ESP sharpshooter- Soi Kilonzo


Expert category


1) SSP expert  overall winner- Daniel Kyalo

2) ESP expert  overall winner - Eric Wachira


3) CCP expert overall winner- Maheer Omar


Master category


1) ESP master - Eng. Robert Nyamongo

2) SSP master winner- Sammy Onyango


Division winner’s trophies irrespective of classification)

1) Overall winner ESP division- Robert Nyamongo

2) Overall winner SSP division- Sammy Onyango

3) Overall winner CCP division - Maheer Omar




1) Lady ssp marksman overall winner- Belinda Akoth

medals; marksman

2) Lady SSP marksman 2nd place - Elizabeth Cherono

3) lady SSP marksman 3rd place - Elizabeth Washianga



1) Lady novice overall winner- Leila Awale

High law enforcement

Medals: only for novices

1) Law enforcement overall winner- Stanslus Masha

2) Law enforcement 2nd place- Benjamin Muema

Trophy; ( 50- 64 YRS)
1) High senior - Tony Munene
1) Most accurate ( no honts)
  Overall winner - Sammy Onyango

For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper