ODM's Abdulswamad Nassir wins Mombasa governor race

In Mvita Constituency, Nassir got 24,106 votes, while Omar received 19,086 votes.

In Nyali Constituency, Nassir had 22,387 votes, while Omar got 21,580 votes.

The Mombasa gubernatorial race attracted five other candidates. They are Hezron Awiti Bollo of Vibrant Democratic Party (VDP), William Kingi of Pamoja African Alliance (PAA) Party, Said Omar of Usawa Kwa Wote Party, Daniel Kitsao (Independent) and Shafi Makazi (Independent).

The governorship election was held on Monday, August 29.

Initially, the polls were to be held on August 9, 2022, during the general election, but a mix-up of candidates' images on the ballot papers occasioned the postponement, IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati said.

Outgoing Governor Ali Hassan Joho was ineligible for re-election after serving the maximum two five-year terms allowed by the Constitution.

Abdullswamad Nassir has been the Member of Parliament (MP) for Mvita Constituency between 2013 and 2022.

Hassan Omar, on the other hand, was the pioneer Senator of Mombasa County between 2013 and 2017.

Reporting by Saada Hassan, Tobias Chanji, and George Maringa.