Nelson Havi concedes defeat in Westlands parliamentary seat

Westlands MP candidate Nelson Havi [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Westlands MP hopeful Nelson Havi has conceded defeat to the incumbent Tim Wanyonyi.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) is however yet to make formal announcements for the results in Westlands Constituency. 

In a statement on his Twitter page on Wednesday, August 10, Havi said he is content with the outcome of the election. 

"Well done team Havi. We are the minority in the contest for Westlands. The majority chose Timothy Wanyonyi. They duly deserve him in their wisdom or lack of it. On our part, we are content with the outcome. Congratulations to you my elder brother, Tim Wanyonyi. Serve well," he wrote.

If announced by IEBC as the winner, Wanyonyi will be serving a third term as the Member of Parliament, Westlands. 

"It is a win. Our big win. Humbled by your vote of confidence," said Wanyonyi in a post on Facebook.

Other politicians who have conceded defeat so far include; Moses Kuria (Kiambu Governor seat), Charles Kibiru (Kirinyaga Governor), Nixon Korir (Lang'ata MP), Amos Kimunya (Kipiriri), Naomi Shaban (Taita Taveta), Jasper Muthomi known to many as MC Jessy (South Imenti MP) and Cliff Ombeta (Bonchari MP).

“To the people of Lang’ata, I sincerely thank you for according me an opportunity to be your Member of Parliament for the last 5 years. It’s been a great opportunity that gave me an avenue to contribute to our nation-building and service to the people,” Nixon Korir said.