× Digital News Videos Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Cartoons Columnists Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Isaac Mwaura’s woes deepen as name struck from Jubilee list

By Jael Mboga | March 30th 2021

The Registrar of Political Parties has removed Nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura’s name from Jubilee Party’s membership list.

The notice signed by RPP Ann Nderitu said it is awaiting the adoption of the same by the National Executive Committee.

The RPP based its decision on the party disciplinary committee report dated February 6 as well as the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal ruling on March 26.

The act of the registrar striking off a name from a party’s membership list means Senate Speaker Kenneth Lusaka will declare the seat vacant. This will then pave way for IEBC to start the process of replacing the fired senator.

Nomination lists from political parties submitted to the IEBC before the General Election are closed and, therefore, the concerned party cannot nominate other people outside the list.

“IEBC will pick from the party list and Gazette notice just the same way the registrar will do on the changes. It is within the rights of the nominees to vacate their nomination or be nominated, despite being in breach of the requirements like gender and regional balance,” said a senior official at the office of the registrar.

Affected members, however, are free to move to the High Court if they are not satisfied with the registrar’s decision. And in the event that the High Court also upholds the party decision, they would still have the right to proceed to the Court of Appeal and finally the Supreme Court.

Mwaura's troubles started on February 8, 2021, when Jubilee Party settled on expelling nominated Senators over disciplinary violations.

Others are Mary Seneta, Falhada Dekow Iman, Naomi Jillo Waqo, Victor Prengei, Millicent Omanga and Christine Gona. They were expelled by the National Management Committee (NMC) after deliberating on the reports submitted by the Party Disciplinary Committee.

Mwaura was accused of advancing the ideologies of United Democratic Alliance (UDA) alongside the DP and other Tangatanga MPs.

According to a statement signed by Party Secretary-General Raphael Tuju, the six had appeared before the disciplinary committee last year and this year over insubordination and gross misconduct.

“The NMC in exercising its mandate as provided for under Article 7(2a) of the party constitution and relying on other enabling provisions of the same constitution has expelled the senators,” read the statement.

Share this story
Ministry to review coffee fund after a dismal performance
The fund became operational last year to help farmers access cheap loans
How the rich went into overdrive to protect their wealth after Covid
Kenya’s richest households are concentrated in Nairobi and its environs, an analysis of data from the national census shows.