List of counties severely affected by El Nino

Devastating floods wreak havoc in the coastal region, submerging roads and bridges. [Marion Kithi, Standard]

Seventy six Kenyans have so far lost their lives to El Nino, State House Spokesperson Hussein Mohammed has divulged.

While reading a report following the cabinet’s special meeting on Monday, Hussein said 35,000 households have so far been displaced.

“38 of our country’s 47 counties are within the alarm stage, a stage characterised by flash floods, general flooding in low-lying plains, rivers bursting their banks, landslides and mudslides, loss of livestock and destruction of farmland and infrastructure,” said Mohammed 

Severely affected areas are in North-Eastern, Eastern and Coast regions.

Regions in North Eastern that have been severely affected are; Mandera, Wajir, Marsabit and Garissa while those severely affected in the Coast region are Kilifi, Mombasa, Taita Taveta, Tana River, Kwale and Lamu counties.

In central, Murang’a, Nyeri, Kiambu and Kirinyaga are severely affected by El Nino.

Six counties in Eastern have also been listed as severly affected. They are; Isiolo, Kitui, Machakos, Makueni, Meru and Tharaka-Nithi while in Nyanza region, Homabay, Kisumu, Migori and Kisii have been listed.

In Western, three counties have been listed. They are Bungoma, Busia and Kakamega while in Rift Valley region, Baringo, Bomet, Kajiado, Kericho, Nandi, Narok, Turkana, Trans Nzoia, Uasin Gishu and West Pokot.

Nairobi has also been listed as one of the counties severely affected by El Nino.

The State has since allocated Sh7 billion which will be used to implement various programmes to address the plight of Kenyans across the country.  

“The funds were appropriated by Parliament under the Contingencies Fund as part of the FY2023/24 budget and Supplementary Appropriations No. I of FY 2023/24,” said Mohammed.