List of 49 State Departments in Ruto's government that are in need of PSs

Kenya's President William Ruto. [File, Standard]

President William Ruto’s government will have 49 Principal Secretaries, with the ministries of Interior, Transport, Lands, Trade, Education and Mining having three PSs each.

The unveiling of the State Departments in need of PSs comes a day after President Ruto unveiled his 22-member Cabinet composition.

The president kicked out President Uhuru Kenyatta’s entire team, except for Simon Chelugui and Monica Juma.

Chelugui, who was the CS for Labour under President Kenyatta’s administration, will now be the Minister for Cooperatives Micro, Small and Medium-size Enterprises.

Monica Juma, who served as the Energy minister and previously Defence CS under the former president’s regime, has been picked by Ruto to serve as the National Security Advisor.

Other nominees to the Cabinet include Musalia Mudavadi (Prime Cabinet Secretary), Kithure Kindiki (Interior), Njuguna Ndung'u (Treasury), Aisha Juma (Public Service and Gender), Aden Duale (Defence), Alice Wahome (Water, Sanitation and Irrigation), Alfred Mutua (Foreign Affairs), Moses Kuria (Trade), Rebecca Miano (East African Community), Kipchumba Murkomen (Transport) and Roselinda Soipan Tuya (Environment and Forestry).

The remaining proposed CS office holders are Zachariah Mwangi Njeru (Lands), Penina Malonza (Tourism), Mithika Linturi (Agriculture), Susan Wafula (Health), Eliud Owalo (Information, Communication and Digital Economy), Ezekiel Machogu (Education), Davis Chirchir (Energy) Ababu Namwamba (Sports) Salim Mvurya (Mining) and Florence Bore (Labour).

The Cabinet Secretary nominees will be vetted by the National Assembly for approval or rejection.

Members of Parliament (MPs) and Senators convene for the first post-swearing-in sitting on Thursday, September 29, when President William Ruto will officially open the 13th Parliament.

The president will make his address to the Bicameral House at 2:30pm.

President Ruto has also released a circular of all the State Departments that he’s seeking to fill in the 22 ministries.

Below is a list of all the State Departments in the fifth regime:

State Department Prime Cabinet Secretary

  1. Government Coordination

Interior and National Administration

  1. Internal Security and National Administration
  2. Correctional Services
  3. Citizen Services

National Treasury and Economic Planning

  1. Finance
  2. Economic Planning


  1. Defence

Foreign and Diaspora Affairs

  1. Foreign Affairs
  2. Diaspora Affairs

Public Service, Gender and Affirmative Action

  1. Public Service
  2. Gender and Affirmative Action

Roads, Transport and Public Works

  1. Roads
  2. Transport
  3. Public Works

Lands, Housing and Urban Development

  1. Lands and Physical Planning
  2. Housing
  3. Urban Development

Information, Communications and the Digital Economy

  1. Broadcasting and Telecommunications
  2. ICT and The Digital Economy


  1. Medical Services
  2. Public Health


  1. Basic Education
  2. TVET
  3. Higher Education and Research

Agriculture and Livestock Development

  1. Crop Development
  2. Livestock Development

Trade, Investment and Industry

  1. Trade
  2. Investment Promotion
  3. Industry

Co-operatives and Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMES) Development

  1. Cooperatives
  2. MSMEs Development

Youth Affairs, Sports and the Arts

  1. Youth Affairs
  2. Sports and The Arts

Environment and Forestry

  1. Environment
  2. Forestry

Tourism, Wildlife and Heritage

  1. Tourism and Wildlife
  2. Culture and Heritage

Water, Sanitation and Irrigation

  1. Water and Sanitation
  2. Irrigation

Energy and Petroleum

  1. Energy
  2. Petroleum

Labour and Social Protection

  1. Labour and Skills Development
  2. Social Security and Protection

East African Community (EAC), Arid and Semi-Arid Lands (ASALS) and Regional Development

  1. EAC Affairs
  2. ASALs and Regional Development

Mining, the Blue Economy and Maritime Affairs

  1. Mining
  2. The Blue Economy
  3. Shipping and Maritime Affairs

The 49th State Department in Ruto’s government wasn’t revealed in the circular, though the statement says the president’s administration will have a total of 49 State Departments.