Postponed governorship poll: Candidates who've voted so far

August 9, 2022 General Election ballot boxes. [Kelly Ayodi, Standard]

Six gubernatorial candidates have so far cast their ballot in the ongoing Kakamega and Mombasa governor races marred by low voter turnout. 

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) moved the elections for the two counties and four constituencies owing to a mix-up of names of candidates' pictures to today Monday, August 29.

Elections were held in 45 other counties on August 9 and their governors sworn in last week.

The constituencies are Kacheliba, Pokot South, Rongai, and Kitui Rural.

In Kakamega, Cleophas Malala (ANC), Fernandes Barasa of the ODM, Cyrus Jirongo of UDP and Samuel Omukoko (Maendeleo Democratic Party), were among the first candidates to vote at Bukhungu Stadium polling station, Matungu, Lumakanda Township Primary School in Lugari and  Khwisero Mixed Secondary School, respectively.

Seven candidates in the county have lined up to succeed Wycliffe Oparanya who has served at the county’s top seat for 10 years.

Fernandes faulted IEBC for failing to address KIEMS kits failures which he noted had affected four constituent polling centres.

Suleiman Sumba (Kanu), Michael Osundwa, and Austine Opitso (independents) are also part of the race. 

In Mombasa, governor candidates Abdulswamad Sharrif Nassir (ODM) and Hassan Omar have already voted. Nassir was accompanied by among others, former Murang’a Woman Representative, Sabina Chege.

Nassir exuded confidence in winning the race urging the commission to conduct the election in a fair and transparent manner. 

Despite the low turnout, which he attributed to IEBC’s postponement of elections, Nassir urged Mombasa residents to exercise their democratic right and vote.

Omar who voted at Kaderbhoy polling station alleged voter bribery by some agents representing Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition.

He, however, exuded confidence in winning the county's top seat.

The Mombasa gubernatorial race has attracted seven candidates with opinion polls pointing out a tight race between UDA’s Hassan Omar and ODM’s Abdulswamad Sharrif Nassir.

Raymond Moi, running on the KANU ticket, voted at Mercy Njeri polling station in Rongai, Nakuru County, calling on the IEBC to address electoral irregularities.

The race is expected to be a tight contest between Moi who is seeking to retain the seat he first won in 2013 and Paul Chebor of UDA who is a former Member of County Assembly for Solai Ward.

Moi accused some Kenya Kwanza agents of illegally campaigning on the voting day, urging the commission to hold free and fair elections.

He, however, expressed confidence he would win the race .