× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Cartoons Lifestyle Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Ramadhan Special Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Rivals quit as Kuppet officials win polls

By Jacinta Mutura | April 5th 2021
Kenya Union of Post Primary Education Teachers? Secretary-General Akelo Misori. [David Gichuru, Standard]

All the 10 Kenya Union of Post Primary Education Teachers (Kuppet) national officials were re-elected unopposed during Saturday’s polls.

This was after their opponents withdrew from the race.

The elections, whose nerve centre was Moi International Sports Centre, Karasani, in Nairobi, were conducted virtually and presided over by Acting Commissioner of Labour Hellen Apiyo.

Ms Apiyo said she was satisfied that all the legal requirements for the elections were met.

“Even though voting by virtual methods is not expressly provided for under the Kuppet constitution, I am satisfied by resolutions of the National Governing Council of March 30 and a court order paving the way for virtual voting,” said Apiyo.

The re-elected officials, who include Secretary-General Akelo Misori, will form the union’s National Executive Board.

Misori said the suspension of public gatherings due to Covid-19 affected their plans to hold a Special Delegates Conference.

“We are among a handful of institutions in Kenya, and the first trade union to hold our national conference on Zoom. The union will undertake an urgent review of its constitution to provide for emerging trends such as voting virtually,” he said.

Take a quick survey and help us improve our website!

Take a survey

He said his team will honour promises it made to the delegates during the campaigns.

“I assure you that our campaign promises will be fulfilled to the letter. With the election process now behind us, we will urgently embark on the journey of implementing the agenda outlined in our manifesto,” he said.

Among the focus areas, Misori said, will be strengthening the department handling gender and youth.

The executive secretaries elected from various branches include Mary Rotich (Kericho), Sam Opondo (Siaya), Furaha Lusweti (Trans Nzoia), Moses Owiti (Nairobi), and Elijah Maiyo (Uasin Gishu).

Others are Joseph Abincha (Kisii), Lynette Kamadi (Mombasa), Moses Thogo (Kiambu), Edward Mbuthia (Lamu) and Benjamin Mutie (Kitui). 


Share this story
Ten counties lagging behind in Covid-19 vaccine uptake
The government last week confirmed that more than 800,000 doses had been dispatched for vaccination countrywide.
What one-month paid leave means for adoptive parents
The Bill was first passed by the National Assembly on September 17, 2020 and presented to the President for assent.