The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Governors, speakers to appear before Senate PAC over audit queries

 Senate Public Accounts Committee chairperson Moses Kajwang'. [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

Governors and speakers from across the 47 counties are set to appear before Parliament for questioning over audit queries raised by Auditor General Nancy Gathungu.

The county bosses are scheduled to face the Senate Public Accounts Committee from February 1, where they are expected to account for the flagged irregular expenditure running into billions of shillings.

The Moses Kajwang'-led PAC will be questioning the governors, speakers and county executive committee members (CECs) on accounts for financial year 2019/2020.

Governors are constitutionally regarded as the executive officers of the county governments while speakers are the chairs of their respective county public service boards that are in charge of approving payments.

According to a notice by Senate Clerk Jeremiah Nyegenye, Tana River Governor Dhadho Godhana will be first to face the panel on February 1, followed by his Kirinyaga counterpart Anne Waiguru on February 2.  

“The Public Accounts Committee hereby informs the chief executive officers of the entities of the committee sittings scheduled for February 2023,” read the notice.  

“The committee requires that all county executives and county assemblies submit written responses, including supporting documentation, to the specific issues in the Auditor General's report,” it added.  

 Auditor General Nancy Gathungu. [Samson Wire, Standard]

Kisumu Governor Anyang' Nyong'o will appear before the watchdog committee on February 6, followed by Tharaka Nithi county boss Muthomi Njuki on February 7 and Nyeri’s Mutahi Kahiga on February 8.

Speakers of Kitui and Kiambu county assemblies will be questioned on February 9 before the committee embarks on questioning the governors.

Governors Stephen Sang (Nandi), Hillary Barchok (Bomet) and Wilber Otichillo (Vihiga) will appear on February 13, 14 and 15 respectively. Following suit will be Isiolo and Lamu speakers on February 16.

On February 20, 21 and 22, Governors Amos Nyaribo (Nyamira), Abdulswamad Shariff (Mombasa) and Susan Kihika (Nakuru) will appear before the committee respectively. Narok and West Pokot speakers will then appear on Thursday, February 23.

Governors Johnson Sakaja (Nairobi) and Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay) will appear at the tail-end of the process.

 Nairobi Governor Johnson Sakaja. [File, Standard]

The committee will then retreat for report writing where it will either recommend the prosecution of those found culpable of financial malpractice or give them a clean bill of health.

The committee has, however, in the recent past complained of inaction on its reports from investigative agencies such as the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) and the Directorate of Criminal Investigations (DCI).

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week