The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

High Court stops CASs from assuming office, receiving salaries

 ICT CAS appointee Dennis Itumbi (L) and Trade CAS appointee Evans Kidero. [Courtesy]

The High Court in Nairobi has stopped the 50 newly appointed Chief Administrative Secretaries (CASs) from assuming office or receiving any salary.

Justice Hedwig Ongudi stated on Friday, March 24 that the new appointees will only assume office after a petition by the Law Society of Kenya (LSK) challenging their legality is heard and determined.

This comes one day after the CASs were sworn in at State House, Nairobi in an event presided over by President William Ruto.

The LSK, through its president Eric Theuri, argue that President Ruto acted against the law by increasing the number of CAS slots from the originally recommended 23 to 50.

In a late 2022 letter by former Head of Public Service Joseph Kinyua, the Public Service Commission (PSC) was asked to only allow a maximum of 23 CAS positions.

On March 16, President Ruto, however, unveiled 50 CAS nominees to the shock of many Kenyans.

The CASs, were it not for the court injunction, would have pocketed a total of Sh39 million in their first month in office.

The Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) recently reviewed upwards their gross monthly salary from Sh765,000 to Sh780,000.

The other goodies that come with the office, is a Sh10 million car grant and Sh35 million mortgage.

Below is the full list of CASs who took the oath of office on Thursday, March 23, 2023:

Office of the Deputy President

Ann Wanjiku Mwangi

Nicholas Ngabiya Rioba

Edwin Sudi Wandabusi

Office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary

Sharif Athman Ali

Isaac Mwaura Maigua

Rehema Hassan

Interior ministry

Samuel Kuntai Tunai

Millicent Nyaboke Omanga

Amb. Mohamud All Saleh

Defence ministry

Alfred Agoi Masadia

National Treasury

Kirui Joseph Limo

Beatrice Nkatha Nyaga

Foreign Affairs ministry

Joash Arthur Maangi

Catherine Waruguru

Public Service and Gender ministry

Hussein Tuneya Dado

Charity Nancy Nanyama Kibaba

Roads and Transport ministry

Benjamin Jomo Washiali

Eng. Nicholas Gumbo

Lands and Public Works ministry

Onesmus Kimani Ngunjiri

Victor Kioko Munyaka

ICT ministry

Dennis Njue Itumbi

Simon Mwangi Kamau

Health ministry

James Kimanthi Mbaluka

Khatib Abdallah Mwashetani

Education ministry

Elly Stephen Loldepe

Mark Lomunokol

Anab Mohamed Gure

Agriculture ministry

Jackson Kiptanui

Daniel Wamahiu Kiongo

Trade ministry

Evans Odhiambo Kidero

Vincent Kemosi Mogaka

Lilian Cheptoo Tomitom

SACCOs and SMEs ministry

Bishop Margaret Wanjiru

Amos Chege Mugo

Sports and Arts ministry

Wesley Korir Hon

Charles Njagua Kanyi

Environment ministry

Jackline Mwenesi Lukalo

Nyaga John Muchiri

Tourism ministry

Wilson Sossion

Rehema Dida Jaldesa

Water ministry

Chrisantus Wamalwa

Sunya Orre

Energy ministry

Mary Yaine Seneta

John Lodepe Nakara

Labour ministry

Prof. Elijah Gitonga Rintaugu

EAC ministry

Mwanamaka Amani Mabruki

Rael Chebichii Lelei

Mining ministry

David Kipkorir Kiplagat

Fredrick Otieno Outa

State Law Office

Allan Kibet Kosgey

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week