The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Interior CS Kithure Kindiki reshuffles County Commissioners


Interior Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki. He has recalled County Commissioners of Nandi, Kirinyaga, Embu and Trans Nzoia; transferred 20, and retained 15 at their current workstations. [Jenipher Wachie, Standard]

The Cabinet Secretary in the Ministry of Interior and National Administration Prof. Kithure Kindiki has made changes to the deployment of County Commissioners countrywide.

In the latest posting order dated 7th March 2023, four County Commissioners have been recalled, twenty (20) transferred, while fifteen (15) have been retained at their current workstations.

"To enhance service delivery within the National Administration, changes have been made among County Commissioners in all the 47 Counties of the Republic of Kenya with effect from 7th March, 2023," said Kindiki.

The County Commissioners who have been recalled to the ministry headquarters for re-deployment are; Herman Shambi of Nandi County, Mathias Rioba of Trans-Nzoia County, Michael Ivuto of Kirinyaga County, and Stephen Kihara of Embu County.


The transfers affect 20 County Commissioners among them Baringo's Abdirisack Jaldesa who moves to Mombasa County. He will be replaced by Stephen Kutwa who has been promoted from deputy County Commissioner to County Commissioner.

Gideon Oyagi will now be Trans-Nzoia County Commissioner, and his replacement in Kwale County will be Michael Mwangi Meru who has been transferred from Migori County.

Kitui County Commissioner Erastus Mbui moves to Migori County, while Joshua Nkanatha has been transferred from Kiambu County to Embu County.

Josephine Ouko assumes her role as Busia County Commissioner, as Isaac Masinde moves from Narok County to Homa Bay County to replace Moses Lilan who moves to Kitui County.

Mohamed Barre of Nyeri County has been transferred from Nyeri County to Nyandarua County, while Paul Famba moves from headquarters to become Machakos County Commissioner.

Tana River County Commissioner Thomas Sankei has been transferred to Bungoma County, and will be replaced by Bejah M'mbesta who has been promoted from Deputy County Commissioner to County Commissioner.

Taita Taveta County Commissioner Loyford Kibaara moves to Nakuru County, and will be replaced by Josephine Onunga who has been redeployed from the headquarters.

Gilbert Kitiyo who has served in Nakuru County moves to Vihiga County, to replace Susan Waweru who has been transferred to Nairobi County.

Karuku Ngumo of Murang'a County moves to Wajir County, while Amos Mariba has been transferred from Nyandarua County to Mandera County. Onesmus Kyatha who has been in Mandera County moves to Nyamira County to replace Michael Lesimam who has been transferred to Kericho County.

Tharaka Nithi County Commissioner Nobert Komora has been transferred to Marsabit County, whereas Erastus Mbui has been transferred from Kitui County to Migori County, to replace Michael Mwangi.

To remain at current stations

Fifteen County Commissioners will remain at their current stations. They are Boaz Cherotich of Garissa County, Geoffrey Omoding of Isiolo County, Fredrick Ndunga of Meru County, William Kaimba of Makueni County, Jacob Ouma of Turkana County and Apollo Okello of West Pokot County.

Others are Henry Wafula who remains in Samburu County, so will John Korir of Elgeyo Marakwet County. Joseph Kanyiri retains his position in Laikipia County, as Felix Watakila continues with service in Kajiado County.

Joseph Ondego remains Kakamega County Commissioner, as well as Jim Njoka of Siaya County and Tom Anjere of Kisii County.

Dr. Eddyson Nyale is still Uasin Gishu County Commissioner, similar to Dr. Ahmed Omar who remains Bomet County Commissioner.

Promotion to County Commissioners

Twelve Deputy County Commissioners have been promoted to County Commissioners subject to concurrence of the Public Service Commission.

Jack Obuo takes is the new Kiambu County Commissioner, while Gerishon Mathioya takes over as Kisumu County Commissioner.

Patrick Mukuria has been promoted to Murang'a County Commissioner, so is Pius Murugu Mugambi who becomes Nyeri County Commissioner.

Wesley Koech Mabwa will be the new County Commissioner in Tharaka Nithi County, as David Kariuki Gitonga is deployed to Narok County.

Josephat Biwott is the new County Commissioner for Kilifi County, whole Louis Rono has been appointed County Commissioner in the neighbouring Lamu County.

Caroline Mueni has been promoted to Nandi County Commissioner, as Stephen Kutwa becomes Baringo County Commissioner.

Bejah M'mbesta will take the helm as Tana River County Commissioner, as Nayioma Tobiko is promoted to become Kirinyaga County Commissioner.

Transferred Deputy Commissioners

Eight Deputy County Commissioners have also been transferred.

Kimilili Deputy County Commissioner Abdihakim Jubat has been transferred to Transmara South, as James Taari moves from Tana North to Kajiado North.

Patrick Mwangi who has been in Kajiado North has been moved to Samburu East.

Kajiado West Deputy County Commissioner Moranga Morekwa has been transferred to Tana North and he will be replaced by Lydia Munyi who moves from Mumoni.

Catherine Kamathai has been transferred from Thagicu to Mathare, as Samuel Gichohi moves from Isiolo to Tiaty East. Aaron Omaset moves from Vihiga and will be Deputy County Commissioner for Tiaty West.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week