The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Nabwire wins Nakuru Centenary Celebrations Golf Championships

 Water Cabinet Secretary Zack Njeru(left) awards Gentar Nabwire (in yellow coat) the top prize in the Nakuru Centenary Celebrations Golf Championships at Nakuru Golf Club over the weekend. [Ben Ahenda,Standard]

With the presence of two Cabinet Secretaries, handicap 23 Gentar Nabwire walked tall to score a total of 43 stable ford points to emerge the overall winner of Nakuru Centenary Celebrations at Nakuru Golf Club over the weekend.

Nabwire beat over 120 golfers to pick the coveted prize handed over to her by Water CS Zack Njeru in the presence of Treasury Counterpart Professor Njuguna Ndung’u who were the guest of honours and Nakuru Golf chairman Mandeep Sahota.

“It was tough but I believed in myself in all the holes as I fought tooth and nail to beat my competitors,” Nabwire told Standard Sports.

Nabwire who was in good form scooped the ladies longest drive titles as Sarat Singh picked the men’s title.

As a member of the club, CS Njeru said he was ready to assist the club achieve their water development agenda for them to have enough water within and without the club land to assist the club members and the neighbourhood.

“We’ll try our level best to ensure the club gets adequate water supply enough to serve its members and its neighbourhood,” the CS stated.

Experienced handicap 10 Javan Muriithi who collected his prize from Prof Ndung’u finished runners up with 42 stable ford points ahead of Ken Biegon who posted 40 points to emerge third.

Mandeep Jajuha and Margaret Wanjiru scored 38 and 34 points to emerge the men and women winners respectively.

On their part, MS Malik and Mark Karanja also scored 34 and 39 stable ford points to win the senior and junior titles respectively.

With a score of 35 stable ford points, Cyrus Lwenyi was the gross winner ahead of John Kamais who was beaten on countback to finish runners up.

The first and second nines went to Fazal Zaheer Abbas and Joel Chebon with 38 and 22 points respectively with the best efforts going to Kandiue Ng’ochoch and Teresia Kabogo.

Nakuru Golf Captain Mathews Maiyo snatched the Piga Mingi title.


Overall winner – Gentar Nabwire 43 stable ford points.

1st Runners Up – Javan Muriithi 42 stable ford points.

2nd Runners Up – Ken Biegon 40 stable ford points.

Man Winner – Mandeep Jajuha – 40 stable ford points.

Lady Winner – Margaret Wanjiru 38 stable ford points.

Senior Winner – MS Malik 34 stable ford points.

Junior Winner – Mark Karanja 39 stable ford points.

Gross Winner – Cyrus Lwenyi.

Gross Runners Up – John Kamais 35 stable ford points.

Guest Winner – S        imon Mbote 36 stable ford points.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week