The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Brilliant Kiprop beats Kimutai and Longosiwa in 10,000m final

 Kenneth Kiprop (822) on his way to winning the men’s 10,000m race at Kasarani Stadium yesterday. [Dennis Okeyo, Standard]

Kenneth Kiprop of Western Region, produced a powerful performance to destroy the field to win the men's 10,000m in 28:06.67 during the National Athletics Championships at Kasarani Stadium yesterday.

Little-known Kiprop, took control of the race with eight laps covered before widening the leading gap to 150metres to win his maiden national championships.

Wesley Kimutai finished a distant second in 28:32.89, Abraham Longosiwa who formed part of the leading pack in the initial stages of the race held on to win bronze in 28:40.89. 

Paul Tanui, 2016 Olympics bronze medallist, was the race casualty dropping off with six rounds to go, while KDF's Kibiwott Kandie and Police's Rhonex Kiprop did not participate. 

"I knew there was a strong presentation, considering the line up had experienced athletes but some didn't start the race, that gave me self-belief to go for the title. My hope this season is to make the national team in both World Championships and Commonwealth Games," said Kiprop who is coached by Patrick Sang in Kaptagat. 

Abel Kipsang, a fourth-placed finisher at Olympics Games won the men's 1,500m semis one to set up a mouthwatering final with Timothy Cheruiyot, the reigning world champion. 

Emedy Kiplimo was second with Daniel Mungut taking third in the semis one event. Cheruiyot comfortably sailed to the final, winning the race in 3:42.02.

Uganda's Aaron Adol timed 46.07 to beat Boniface Mweresa to second in 46.32 with Kevin Tauta finishing third in 47.13 in semis one.

William Rayan (46.45) was first, Police's Kennedy Kemeu second in 46.78 and Nathaniel Kipngetich finishing third in 46.88 in semis two. 

Collins Omae emerged top in semis three in 46.91. Kevin Kiprotich of Prions was second in 47.09 while Cleopas Langat was third in 47.32 seconds.

Uganda's Shida Lenyi (53.01) won the women's 400m semis one, Leah Chesire was second in 54.08 with Joan Cherono closing the podium 54.82. 

Prisons' Mercy Adijah won the second semis in 54.59, Damaris Nduleve was second in 54.91 while Maureen Thomas finished third in 55.47. 

Police produced 1-2 in the third semis, with Veronica Mutua (54.03) winning the race followed by Jacinta Shikanda in 54.54 while Prisons' Sylvia Chesebe was third in 55.44.

In the other semi-finals of the day, Africa 100m record holder Ferdinand Omanyala of Police timed 10.14 to win men's semis one, Hesbon Ochieng of Prisons finished second in 10.62 with Robinson Motende of KDF closing the podium in 10.76. 

Semis two went to Tazana Kamanga of Denmark in 10.67, Mark Kangethe (10.68) was second. Moses Wasike timed 10.81 seconds in third. 

KDF's Samuel Imeta timed 10.53 to pip Ugandan Benson Okot (10.55) in second. Duke Ogoti was third in 10.86 seconds.

National Police's Maximilla Imali comfortably sailed through to today's final in the women's 100m, winning the race in 11.36.

This is the fastest time this year in the country, Eunice Kadogo took second slot in 11.84 while Lucia William of South Sudan closed the podium in 12.28. 

Uganda's Jacinta Nyamahuge won semis two in 11.80, Joy Akinyi (12.41) in second and Linda Kageha clocked 12.46 in third.

Semis three went to Monica Safania (11.91), Esther Mbagari was second in 12.16 with Doreen Waka closing the podium in 12.48.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week