How Kimani changed Bandari into FKF Premier League title contenders

AFC Leopards Coach Anthony Kimani after his team lost 1-0 in favour of Wazito FC during FKF Premier League match at Utali Club grounds on Saturday, Jan 10, 2021. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Bandari on Sunday joined Kakamega Homeboyz and Tusker in the tussle to win the 2021-2022 FKF Premier League title after their 4-1 win over relegation fighting Vihiga Bullets in Mombasa.

Victory saw the dockers close the gap on joint leaders Tusker and Homeboyz to three points with four matches left till the end of the season.

Tusker and Homeboyz are tied on 56 points after Homeboyz were docked three points after the relegation of Mathare United on Saturday.

The 2008 champions had missed three matches against Bandari, Ulinzi Stars and Sofapaka and were officially relegated to the National Super League by the FKF Transition Committee.

According to the rules and regulations of FKF, when a team is relegated after 75% of the matches have been played, all teams will be docked three points.

These revelations are a blessing in disguise for Bandari who now stand a clear chance of winning the title.

Ironically, three months ago, Bandari were nowhere to be considered as title contenders. How, did Bandari change so fast?

The dockers have former AFC Leopards coach Anthony Kimani to thank.

The coastal darlings have been firing from all cylinders from the time the youthful tactician took over from Andre Casa Mbungo who was shown the door in February.

Since taking over, Kimani has only lost one match in the 12 games in charge which came in a 2-1 defeat against Nairobi City Star.

Kimani has won eight games and drawn three in their march towards the title.

Speaking on Sunday, Kimani said they will have to treat the remaining four matches as finals and most importantly, try and reap maximum points.

"All the remaining matches are like finals for us. We will try our best and get good results," he told the club website.

Bandari will have to win all their matches against Kariobangi Sharks, Ulinzi Stars, Kenya Police and Sofapaka to stand a chance of winning the title.