Standard Group's Samson Wire elected treasurer for City Hall Scribes association

Nairobi County Assembly Scribes Association officials Samson Wire, Allan Otieno and John Rapando after an election held at City Hall on April 5, 2024. [Samson Wire, Standard]

Standard Group’s photojournalist Samson Wire has been elected as the treasure for Nairobi County Assembly Scribes Association

Wire edged Annete Ford of Informer News with 7 votes to bag the treasurer position.

He will serve in the office for the next two years alongside Ghetto Radio’s news anchor Allan Otieno who retained the chairmanship position for the third round.

Otieno amassed 8 votes to beat Ndolo, who garnered 1 vote in an election held at the County Assembly

Tuko’s John Rapando garnered 7 votes against Maureen Kinyanjui of the Star Newspaper in the race for the vice chairperson position.

Winnie of Nation Media Group subsidiary Taifa Leo won the Secretary General unopposed.

The team will serve in their respective positions for the next two years.

Otieno said together with his team, they will focus on constitution amendment and unifying of the members drawn from across the newsrooms.

"I'm grateful to those who voted to give me the mandate to lead this noble association. Let's now join hands and make this association great again," said Otieno.