All IEBC Commissioners meet a week after presidential results split

IEBC Commissioners. [File, Standard]

For the first time since last Monday, August 15, all the IEBC Commissioners have sat in the same room again at the Bomas of Kenya.

The commissioners, led by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission chairman Wafula Chebukati met candidates from areas where elections were suspended for a dialogue.

This came days after the IEBC postponed elections in eight areas for a second time last Wednesday.

The Chebukati-led commission postponed elections in eight areas as a result of court orders and a mix-up in ballot materials' contents.

The meeting brought together the seven commissioners who split minutes before the announcement of the 2022 presidential election results.

While announcing the result at the Bomas of Kenya last Monday, only the IEBC chairman, CEO Marjan Marjan, Commissioners Abdi Guliye and Boya Molu were in agreement.

Four of the commissioners, led by the commission's vice-chair Juliana Cherera, Justus Nyang'aya, Francis Wanderi and Irene Masit, distanced themselves from the results shortly before Chebukati made them public.

They cited opaqueness in the final tallying process.

During the meeting, Chebukati announced that the new election dates for the affected areas will be August 29, exactly a week later.

Chebukati has also allowed candidates eyeing elective seats in those areas to campaign until August 27, 48 hours before the polling stations open.

The IEBC has postponed the elections twice so far.

The areas affected are Mombasa and Kakamega Counties, Kitui Rural Constituency, Kacheliba Constituency, Pokot South Constituency, and Rongai Constituency as well as MCAs for Nyaki West Ward in Meru County and Kwa Njenga in Nairobi.