Simba Arati, Mutahi Kahiga win Kisii, Nyeri governor seats

ODM Paul Simba Arati was declared winner in Kisii Governor race. [Sammy Omingo, Standard]

ODM's Simba Arati has won the Kisii Governor seat, garnering 270,928 votes against UDA candidate Ezekiel Machogu who got 82, 104 votes.

Mutahi Kahiga is Nyeri County's new governor-elect, garnering 213, 373 votes against Jubilee's Ephraim Maina who got 26,372 votes, and TND's Thuo Mathenge with 81,467 votes.

"I am humbled as your servant. I promise you another five years of dedication, hard work, commitment, availability to you and forever being only a call away," Kahiga said in his acceptance speech on Friday.

Kawira Mwanganza is Meru County governor-elect, leading with 209,148 votes. Mwangaza beat the incumbent Kiraitu Murungi who got 110,814 votes while Minthika Linturi came second with 183,859 votes.

In Kericho County, Dr Erick Mutai is the new governor-elect, polling 316,768 votes against his closest competitor Isaac Bigeyon, an independent candidate with 6,603 votes.

Nakuru County will now be led by Susan Kihika of UDA, who won the race with 440,707 votes against outgoing governor Lee Kinyanjui who got 225,623 votes.

Benjamin Cheboi is the new governor-elect in Baringo, while Samburu County will now be headed Lati Lelelit garnered 40,702 votes against Jubilee's Richard Lesiampe who got 26,384 votes.