× Business BUSINESS MOTORING SHIPPING & LOGISTICS DR PESA FINANCIAL STANDARD Digital News Videos Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Columnists Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Fact Check Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Issuance of development permits around Konza suspended for 90 days

By Patrick Vidija | April 13th 2021
Ongoing construction works at Konza. [Courtesy]

The county governments of Machakos, Makueni and Kajiado have suspended the issuance of new development permits around the Konza Technopolis area.

In a joint statement, the counties said the permits fall in the area falling within the ten-kilometer radius dubbed ‘Konza Planning Zone’.

The suspension takes effect immediately and will last for 90 days.

The decision was reached to enable a newly constituted Inter-County Joint Physical and Land Use Planning Committee to develop a plan to provide guidelines and standards for regulation of land use practices and general development within the zone.

Interior CS Fred Matiangí indicated that there is need for the devolved governments to work together in protecting the ecosystem around Konza Technopolis so as to deliver value to investors and properties around the Special Planning Zone.

“Konza is now evidence of what happens when government leaders at all levels work together and focus on things that matter. What matters is delivering this project to the people of Kenya,” Matiangi said.

The meeting called by Matiang'i was attended by the governors Kivutha Kibwana, Alfred Mutua and Joseph Ole Lenku.

Cabinet Secretaries Joseph Mucheru (ICT) and Farida Karoney (Lands) were present.

The meeting resolved to complete the buffer zone plan within the notice period so that resumption of developments on July 1 will be guided by the buffer zone plan.

“The plan will provide basic guidelines and standards for regulation of land use practices and general development while controlling activities for the respective counties bordering the Technopolis,” the CS said.

It will also guide developers and property owners on acceptable standards.

The three counties in consultation with the national government will provide a mutually agreed spatial development framework for symbiotic and sustainable co-existence between the Konza Technopolis and the adjacent areas falling within the jurisdiction of the three counties.

The Committee consists of the respective County Executive Committee Members responsible for physical and land use planning matters, two other relevant County Executive Committee Members, co-opted representatives from the relevant National Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (including the Konza Technopolis Development Authority) and the Director-General of Physical and Land Use Planning who shall be the ex-officio member and coordinator of the planning activities.

The formulation of the Inter-County Physical and Land Use Development Plan will largely entail the review of the Approved Development Plan and will adopt a highly participatory and consultative process.

Share this story
Kenya Airways resumes international flights
The first international flights will be to London, Dubai, Addis Ababa, Kigali, Dar es Salaam and Lusaka.
Absa Bank net profit for 3 months up 24pc
The performance was mainly driven by growth in interest income, particularly in the small and medium enterprises.