Relief for governors as Treasury set to disburse Sh29.6 billion

Treasury Cabinet Secretary Njuguna Ndung'u. [File, Standard]

Counties can now breathe a sigh of relief after the Council of Governors (CoG) and the Treasury Cabinet Secretary Njuguna Ndung'u reached a deal on disbursement of Sh29.6 billion balance for March allocation.

The deal comes days after the governors issued a 14 days’ notice to shut down counties if February, March, and April arrears are not released within two weeks.

The government has so far released Sh31.45 billion for February allocation.

"We have agreed with National Treasury CS that they will be prompt in in ensuring timely disbursements to counties. Additionally, it has been resolved that the March allocations to be disbursed by March 15 and April allocations end of May," said Council of Governors Chairperson Anne Waiguru.

"The disbursement for May and June to be disbursed by the first two weeks of June to allow counties to absorb these resources within the financial year," she added.

Waiguru was speaking during a joint press conference at CoG headquarters in Westlands, Nairobi, on Tuesday, after an extra-ordinary council meeting where they discussed critical issues affecting the devolved units and the nation.

The National Treasury and CoG also agreed to explore short-term measures to cushion counties to ensure continuity in service delivery as well as prevent industrial unrest.

The Council has formed a 10-member council executive committee drawn from Azimio and Kenya Kwanza to engage President William Ruto and Opposition leader Raila Odinga to find amicable solutions to end anti-government demonstrations and ensure stability in the country.

"The Council of Governors prides itself in in being a non-partisan institution that speaks in one voice. In this regard, the Council notes with concern that the ongoing conflict between the two political divide that continues to have a negative impact on counties," said Waiguru.

The committee comprises of Governors Waiguru, Ahmed Abdulahi, Stephen Sang, Kenneth Lusaka, Fatuma Achani, Mutahi Kahiga, Simba Arati, Joseph Ole Lenku, Wavinya Ndeti and Achilo Ayacko.

The governors said the bi-annual devolution conference will be held in Eldoret, Uasin Gishu county from August 15 to 19.

The theme of the conference will be; "10 Years of Devolution: the Present and the Future with sub-theme being; Driving Transformation from the Local Level: County Governments as the Centre of Economic Development."

To ensure full participation of stakeholders, the CoG said they have partnered with Safaricom and started online registration on Tuesday and one can register by going to the CoG website.

"To ensure that there is a continued peace and cohesion in the country, we call upon all political leaders to be amenable to discussion that will yield stability and growth of this great nation," said Waiguru.

Premium Experts: Kibaki would be shocked at Rutonomics
Premium Galana puts up case against Njeri's claim to Sh17b diesel import
Managing the key man risk in private equity transactions
Firms eye new deals at region's MSMEs trade fair in Burundi