Cabinet: 6 universities that will offer dedicated health treatment, research

President William Ruto chairing a past Cabinet meeting. [File, Standard]

The Cabinet on Tuesday, February 28 approved six universities and colleges that will offer treatment and research on Non-Communicable Diseases (NCDs), respiratory diseases, among others.

The selected institutions of higher learning are Kisii University, Egerton University, Maseno University, Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology, Kibabii University and Bomet University College, a constituent college of Moi University.

"The Cabinet observed that treatments and research of Non-Communicable Diseases (NCDs), Respiratory Diseases, Sickle Cell, Malaria, HIV, Mental Health, and Cancer Care and Treatment would be delivered through the listed universities to realise high quality tertiary health care," said the Cabinet in a dispatch.

The Executive's top decision-making organ further stated it would look into partnering with the United Kingdom on healthcare matters under the Kenya-UK Health Alliance Framework.

Premium Storm over plan to privatise ports facilities
PSV trader laments on prices and unfair competition on transport business
Kenyan exports to Netherlands double on stronger trade ties
By Titus Too 1 day ago
Premium Don't expect cheap ugali because of high fuel prices, farmers warn