PSC advertises 1,300 teaching vacancies in vocational colleges

The Public Service Commission offices, Nairobi. [Elvis Ogina, Standard]

The government through the Public Service Commission has announced 1,300 opportunities for the position of Vocational and Technical Trainers in 220 Vocational and Technical Training Institutions across the country.

This comes after President William Ruto, while on a tour of Kisii County at Kisii Polytechnic hinted at the government's commitment to employ more tutors in technical institutions.

''It has come to my attention that in this institution, the college is footing some of the tutors' salaries. I had previously undertaken an undertaking that we are hiring 1,300 teachers and we are going to ensure that 50 of those teachers will come to this college,'' Ruto said.

He urged those contracted by the college to apply so that they can secure the opportunity.

Some qualified 588 Degree, 398 Higher Diplomas and 314 Diploma tutors have until April 17, 2023, to submit their testimonials through the Council.

''Interested and qualified persons are requested to submit their applications directly to the institutions where vacancies exist,'' said the CEO.

Successive candidates will be required to apply for licensing and registration by the TVET Authority.

Nairobi County with eight training institutions leads with 63 teaching chances while Kakamega County having 10 colleges will get 62 slots.

Uasin Gishu County has eight vocational training institutions having been allocated 57 vacancies while the entire Kiambu County will get 52 teachers.

Bungoma County in Nzoia region has seven technical institutions and will get 50 tutors while Kisii County has seven colleges, 46, Nakuru has eight will get 43 tutors, Nyeri and Nandi has six institutions and will get 42 and 40 tutors respectively.

The least is Isiolo and Lamu Counties with one institute each will have four tutors posted but West Pokot will have one more tutor, Marsabit 9, Samburu with two, 10 tutors, Wajir and Tana River with three, 12 tutors, Kirinyaga 13, Kwale, Laikipia and Mandera Counties both have 14 slots.

Eldoret National Polytechnic, Kisumu National Polytechnic, Kisii National Polytechnic and Sigalagala National Polytechnic will each have 14 tutors.

Kabete, Meru, Nyeri, Kitale National Polytechnics will receive 13 while Rift Valley Technical Training, Rift Valley Institute of Science and Technology will also get the same number of tutors.

Kenya Coast National Polytechnic, Ramogi Institute of Agriculture and Technology, and Kenya School of TVET, will have 11 tutors.

Ruto secures Sh15 billion for Meru wind power project
Premium Huge volumes of unsold tea at Mombasa auction raises red flag
Premium State of economy: Is Ruto living in denial or just optimistic?
Premium We are in the dark, Police Sacco founders question sale of prime properties