Counties to establish quarantines along the Kenyan international borders

The government is establishing quarantine centres near all border points in the country to curb the spread of Covid-19.

This is after it was discovered that there are people crossing into the country using routes other than the legal border points.

In a circular sent to the Council of Governors (CoG) by the Ministry of Health on April 1, acting Director-General of Health, Dr Patrick Amoth said the government had identified a gap in the implementation of the mandatory quarantine directive.

He said this was as a result of movement of Kenyans within the East African Community (EAC) through the land crossings.

“In view of the above, counties are requested to identify quarantine facilities along border points under their jurisdictions and forward the facility names…” read part of the letter.

Counties bordering neighbouring countries are Kajiado, Narok, Mandera, Busia, Migori, Turkana, Wajir, Kwale, Taita-Taveta and Marsabit.

Government Spokesman Colonel (Rtd) Cyrus Ogunah said there are quarantine centres in operation at official border points and called on communities living along the borders to cooperate with authorities.

“Communities should assist by reporting people who use unofficial crossing points to chiefs or other officials within their counties,” he said.

A detailed look at Isuzu MU-X: Is it better than its competitors?
Sci & Tech
Teaching youth drones tech for food security
Power sector agencies in limbo as search for new CEOs drags on
Premium Why Monday's protests have rattled government, businesses
The Standard
Make this Easter memorable with our KES999 annual offer!