× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

State releases Sh300 million for new Utalii College

By | November 19th 2010


Mombasa County

Tourism Minister Najib Balala announced that the ministry has received Sh300 million for establishment of the second Utalii College at the Coast.

Balala said the establishment of the Ronald Ngala Utalii College would soon become a reality after he appointed board of directors recently.

Former Bahari MP Joe Khamis will chair the board and oversee the construction of the college at Vipingo in Kilifi County, the minister said.

"It is no longer mere talk. The funds are there for the establishment of Ronald Ngala Utalii College and I have already appointed the board of directors," Balala said.

He added that the college would be put up on a 60-acre land.

Fast-track project

The minister introduced Mr Khamis and a board member, Mr Zul Harunany at a public function in his Mvita constituency on Wednesday and promised to fast-track the project.

According to the minister, the college would boost services in the tourism industry at the Coast.

He said tourism is an economic pillar of Vision 2030 blue print and has the potential to transform the country’s economy.

"The college will develop skills and improve the level of service in the industry," he said. Tourism takes up about 60 per cent of the total investment at the Coast.

Forest guards face charges over killing
Two forest guards have been arrested after the body of a farmer was found dumped in a river.
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...
Share this story