× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
Women look at carcasses of their goats that died due to drought in Arang'amunyan area in Turkana County. 19-03-2019. PHOTO/ KEVIN TUNOI
The Government has released Sh1.85 billion so far to mitigate the effects of drought in 13 counties.

Devolution Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa said the hardest hit counties were Turkana, Wajir, Mandera and Marsabit.

The CS said the situation had not improved in most of counties, including Garissa, Baringo, Kilifi, Tana River, West Pokot, Isiolo, Samburu, Kwale and Makueni.

“We are talking of a population of about 1.1 million Kenyans who are facing a very serious situation that has necessitated a serious Government intervention to ensure they get relief in terms of food and water,” Mr Wamalwa said at a press briefing.

SEE ALSO: Muslim leaders read mischief in the new CRA formula

Wamalwa said the Government had stepped in following requests for support by county administrations.

Sh2 billion

Last month, Sh2 billion was set aside to mitigate drought in the 13 counties.

Governors last month blamed the national Treasury for delaying monies to fight the drought.

In the short term, the county chiefs said they would establish a food fund to be used in times of emergency.

SEE ALSO: Police officer releases ‘Corona’ song to create virus awareness

“We did make it clear for the counties that the Public Finance Management Act allows them to set up (an emergency fund of) 2.3 per cent of the monies they receive,” he said.

Wamalwa, however, said few counties had done so.

He promised to give regular briefs on the drought situation, adding that the weather outlook looked gloomy but said the Government was prepared for any eventuality.

Turkana County Government drought billion
Share this story

Read More