× Digital News Videos Opinions Health & Science Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian SDE Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

National Assembly Majority Leader Aden Duale (pictured) was today spared in the purge targeting Deputy President William Ruto’s allies from plum parliamentary offices.

Earlier on, indications were that he would be replaced by Kipipiri MP Amos Kimunya as majority leader.

Kimunya has instead been appointed to serve as the secretary of the Jubilee Coalition Joint Parliamentary Group, State House spokeswoman Kanze Dena said.

SEE ALSO: Academic calendar out today

Nevertheless, there had been emphatic optimism that Duale, the Garissa Town MP, would keep his position by virtue of his sustained effort in pushing the government’s agenda in the House.

Duale has served for more than seven years as the Majority Leader and helped secure House approval for government Bills and motions despite a hostile opposition - particularly during Jubilee’s first term in office.

The die was, however, cast for National Assembly Majority Whip Benjamin Washiali who was ousted from the Assembly position.

Washiali’s deputy, nominated MP Cecily Mbarire, was also kicked out.

The duo will be replaced by Navakholo MP Emmanuel Wangwe and Igembe North MP Maoka Maore as Majority Whip and deputy Whip respectively.

SEE ALSO: With restrictions lifted, Kenyans must step up personal measures

The changes were made today at a Jubilee Parliamentary Group meeting chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta at State House, Nairobi.

The meeting was attended by Deputy President William Ruto, Jubilee Party Secretary-General and 212 Members of Parliament.

"Today's Parliamentary Group meeting endorsed Justin B Muturi to continue serving as the Speaker of the National Assembly, Moses Cheboi to continue serving as the Deputy Speaker and Jimmy Angwenyi to continue serving as the Deputy Majority Leader," Kanze Dena said.

The House leadership changes are expected to be communicated to the Speaker today.

SEE ALSO: Health starts with you, says Uhuru as country reopens

During an earlier purge at the Senate, Ruto allies, led by former Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen, Prof Kindiki and former Majority Whip Susan Kihika were kicked out.

They were replaced by West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio (Majority Leader) and Murang’a’s Irungu Kang’ata as Majority Whip.

Senate is later today expected to fill Kindiki’s position, with Uasin Gishu Senator Margaret Kamar likely to be picked after the Jubilee Party endorsed her candidature.

Nandi Senator Samson Cherargei, Bomet’s Christopher Lang’at and John Kinyua of Laikipia were shown the door as chairmen of key Senate committees.

Aden Duale Hillary Orinde Uhuru Kenyatta Jubilee Party Jubilee Party Purge
Share this story

Read More