Chipu set for Barthes Trophy with strong squad selection

By Washington Onyango | Apr 17, 2024
Kenya Chipu during a past match.[KRU]

The Kenya national Under 19 rugby team, affectionately known as Chipu, is gearing up for an exhilarating challenge as they announce their squad for the Rugby Africa U20 Barthes Trophy set to unfold in Harare, Zimbabwe, from April 20 to April 28.

Under the astute leadership of Head Coach Simon Jawichre, Chipu is embarking on this crucial journey with a carefully curated 28-man squad, spearheaded by the seasoned Edmond Omondi who assumes the mantle of captaincy.

This squad boasts the inclusion of nine returning players who demonstrated their prowess at the World Rugby U20 Trophy in Nairobi last July.

Among the returning players are Geylord Ngasi, Andycole Omolo, Iddo Kuta, and Wycliffe Ogutu, ensuring a blend of experience and fresh talent.

Notably, Alvin Khavoli and Philip Okeyo, standout performers in the Kenya Cup for Menengai Oilers and Nakuru respectively, have earned their spots through stellar performances in domestic competitions.

The tournament promises riveting clashes as four formidable teams, led by hosts Zimbabwe, last year’s runners-up Kenya, Namibia, and Tunisia, vie for the coveted title.

The format entails a round-robin competition spanning three match days, with each team aiming to secure victory and clinch Africa’s berth to the World Rugby U20 Trophy 2024 slated for Scotland in July.

Chipu kicks off their campaign against Namibia on April 20 before facing Tunisia on April 24. They conclude their quest for glory with a showdown against hosts and defending champions Zimbabwe on April 28.

As the departure looms on Thursday morning, the team is brimming with determination and zeal under the guidance of their coaching staff led by Simon Jawichre, alongside Team Manager Philip Wamae and Physio Samuel Ochieng.

With the stage set and anticipation mounting, Chipu is primed to showcase their talent and passion on the rugby field, aiming to etch their names in the annals of rugby glory.

Chipu Squad | Barthes U20 Trophy 2024 | Apr 20-28 | Harare, Zimbabwe

Darrel Oluoch, Ian Nyandusi, Bramwel Mate, Brian Shile, Geylord Ngasi, Hafidh Mohammed, Eugene Etali, Cleyn Okumbi, Andycole Omolo, Eddy Otieno, Iddo Kuta, Wycliffe Ogutu, Nathan Tsindoli, Willy Tino, Edmond Omondi (captain), Patrick Wainaina, Benedict Muiruri, Faran Juma, Philip Okeyo, Alvin Khavoli, Brian Kiptoo, Dennis Ndayala, Kipchirchir Bett, Elvis Otete, Eugene Ojiambo, Jackson Siketi, Michael Wamalwa, James Olela 

MANAGEMENT Simon Jawichre (Head Coach), Philip Wamae (Team Manager), Samuel Ochieng (Physio)

Share this story