Elected EALA members Suleiman Shabal {left}, Kanini Kega, and Hassan Omar. [Elvis Ogina, Standard]

Parliament has elected nine representatives to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The successful representatives from Kenya Kwanza are Hassan Omar (253), Mwangi Maina (213), Iman Falhada, Ziporah Kering (223), and David Sankok (223).

On the Azimio side, the four who have emerged successful are Kennedy Kalonzo (262), Winne Odinga (247), Kanini Kega (197), and Suleiman Shabaal (181).

The Kenya Kwanza coalition had settled on the five following a Parliamentary Group meeting chaired by President William Ruto at Nairobi's State House on Wednesday, November 16.

Other leaders who had expressed interest in the positions are; Joel Nyambane, Geoffrey Karobia, Anne Too, Lilian Tomitom, Yasser Bajaber, Jonas Kuko, Abdikadir Aden, and Rebecca Lowoiya. 

On its part, the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party Winnie Odinga, Mombasa businessman Suleiman Shahbal, former Kitutu Masaba MP and the party’s National Treasurer Timothy Bosire, Former Turkana Water and Irrigation CEC Beatrice Askul, former Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito and Mohammed Diriye (Wajir).

On its part, the Jubilee Party had nominated former MPs Kanini Kega (Kieni), Jeremiah Kioni (Ndaragwa), and Ruth Mwaniki (Kigumo) to battle it out for the EALA slot.

As members of EALA, the nine are entitled to; a monthly gross salary of Sh1.4 Million inclusive of allowances, a vehicle provided by the mother country, a free visit to member countries, and travel allowances.

Also, the legislators will aid in budget-making processes and formulation of legislation to govern the East African Community.