KCB, Nakuru lift Kabeberi Sevens titles

KCB'S Geoffrey Okwach (left) and Habil Malika of Kabras during Kabeberi sevens at RFU Grounds on Saturday 21, 2022. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

National Sevens Circuit defending champions KCB are the 2022 Kabeberi Sevens kings.

KCB were crowned champions after defeating Strathmore Leos 12-0 in the final played yesterday at RFEUA grounds.

Bob Muhati scored the opening try for the bankers, which was converted by Levi Amunga for an early 7-0 lead before Shujaa star Jacob Ojee stretched KCB’s lead to 12-0 heading into the halftime break.

In the final half, Leos launched their comeback with Joseph Ayiro narrowing the scores to 12-5 with an unconverted try. A late unconverted try narrowed the score to 12-10 but the bankers held on to win.

KCB finished the tournament unbeaten after winning all their six-matches they played in the tournament.

They finished top of Group A on Saturday after victories against MMUST (38-7), Kabras Sugar (22-5) and Western Bulls (33-14).

In the quarterfinals, KCB knocked out Kabeberi defending champions and hosts Mwamba 14-5 before seeing off Menengai Oilers 17-12 in the semifinals to book a date against Leos in the final.

Oilers won bronze after defeating Homeboyz 19-12. Homeboyz were knocked out of the semis after a 15-10 defeat to Leos.

Hosts Mwamba finished fifth after edging out MMUST 24-5 in the fifth place semifinals as Homeboyz won the Challenge trophy after beating Blak Blad 7-0.

Meanwhile, Catholic monks will play in the upcoming Christie Sevens top division after winning the Kabeberi Sevens Division II title. Monks saw off Makueni 12-7 in the finals.

Elsewhere, Nakuru were crowned champions of the Kabeberi Sevens women’s edition after defeating Mwamba 17-15 in the final. [

Share this story
Man City apologise after Villa keeper attacked during celebrations
Aston Villa's Swedish goalkeeper Robin Olsen was attacked as Manchester City fans celebrated their Premier League title win by invading the pitch at the Etihad Stadium on Sunday
Wahome swings like none other in Ruiru tourney
Mwangi Wahome produced an excellent 44 stableford points to emerge the overall winner of the 2022 Amerucan golf tournament played at Ruiru Sports Club Golf course on Saturday.