President William Ruto signing an Executive Order appointing four Court of Appeal Judges. [File, Standard]

President William Ruto has gazetted the appointment of 20 High Court judges.

The gazettement comes days after the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) submitted a list of 20 successful High Court Judge position applicants to the president for appointment.

The appointees now await their swearings-in.

Their recruitment started in March this year.

"After lengthy deliberations and careful consideration of the performance of the various candidates and based on the constitutional imperative of merit, gender, regional balance and affirmative action, the JSC has recommended the appointment of the underlisted...," the JSC said on December 1.

According to the Judiciary website, the High Court has 66 judges, with one of them on suspension.

Justice Said Chitembwe was suspended to allow the Judicial Service Commission investigate him over gross misconduct allegations.

The incorporation of 20 more judges will bring to 86 the total number of High Court judges.

Below are the High Court judge appointees:

Gichohi Patricia Njeri

Ms. Mongare Josephine Wayua Wambua

Ms. Nyaundi Patricia Mande, SC

Kavedza Diana Rachel

Ms. Chirchir Sophie Chebet

Prof. (Dr.) Sifuna Nixon Wanyama, PhD

Ms. Shariff Mwanaisha Saida

Nyaga Heston Mbogo

Chigiti John Mugwimi

Mulwa Peter Mutua

Nthiga Lawrence Mugambi

Mutai Gregory

Wananda John Robert Anuro

Mohochi Samwel Mukira

Olel Francis Rayola Ochieng Odhiambo

Dr. Githiru Freda Mugambi

Mr. Magare Dennis Kizito Ng'wono

Hon. Macharia Florence Wangari

Odera Teresa Achieng

Visram Aleem Alnashir