Since 1902

List: Number of MP seats that UDA Party has won so far

By Associated Press - Aug 10th 2022
Martha Wangari is the MP-elect for Gilgil Constituency in Nakuru County. [File, Standard]

The United Democratic Alliance (UDA) Party has already won at least 35 elective seats in the National Assembly in the August 9, 2022 General Election.

That already represents 10.4 per cent of the total number of votes in the National Assembly (337).

There are 290 elected Members of Parliament (MPs) and 47 Woman Representatives, totalling 337.

Tallying of votes in other parts of the country was still ongoing as of the time of publishing this story.

Most of the UDA MPs-elect vied in Rift Valley and Central Kenya constituencies, which are considered to be the strongholds of Deputy President William Ruto.

Ruto is a presidential candidate, running on UDA ticket, in the August 9 polls.

Some UDA MPs-elect, however, come from Kisii and Nyamira constituencies, which sit in Nyanza region, a voting bloc said to be the stronghold of Ruto’s main opponent Raila Odinga of Azimio la Umoja-One Kenya.

Below is a list of National Assembly winners declared thus far:

  1. Joash Nyamoko – North Mugirango, Nyamira County
  2. Japheth Nyakundi – Kitutu Chache, Kisii County
  3. George Gachagua – Ndaragwa, Nyandarua County
  4. Zaheer Jhanda – Nyaribari Chache, Kisii County
  5. Alfah Miruka – Bomachoge Chache, Kisii County
  6. Sylvanus Osoro – South Mugirango, Kisii County
  7. Jayne Kihara – Naivasha, Nakuru County
  8. Wachira Karani – Laikipia West, Laikipia County
  9. Hilary Kosgei – Kipkelion West, Kericho County
  10. Nelson Koech – Belgut, Kericho County
  11. Joseph Cherorot – Kipkelion East, Kericho County
  12. Wanjiku Muhia – Kipipiri, Nyandarua County
  13. Anthony Njoroge – Kieni, Nyeri County
  14. Reuben Kiborek – Mogotio, Baringo County
  15. Hillary Sigei – Sotik, Bomet County
  16. Martha Wangari – Gilgil, Nakuru County
  17. Francis Kuria Kimani – Molo, Nakuru County
  18. Bernard Kitur – Nandi Hills, Nandi County
  19. Adams Kipsanai – Keiyo North, Elgeyo-Marakwet County
  20. Kongogo Bowen – Marakwet East, Elgeyo Marakwet County
  21. Marianne Kitany – Aldai, Nandi County
  22. John Kaguchia – Mukurweini, Nyeri County
  23. John Paul Mwirigi – Igembe South, Meru County
  24. Michael Wambugu – Othaya, Nyeri County
  25. George Macharia – Ndia, Kirinyaga County
  26. Phylis Bartoo – Moiben, Uasin Gishu County
  27. Samuel Chepkonga – Ainabkoi, Uasin Gishu County
  28. Charles Kamuren – Baringo South, Baringo County
  29. Musa Sirma – Eldama Ravine, Baringo County
  30. Johana Ng’eno – Emurua Dikirr, Narok County
  31. Julius Kibiwot – Tinderet, Nandi County
  32. Richard Yegon – Bomet East, Bomet County
  33. Kericho County Woman Representative-elect Beatrice Kemei (elected unopposed)
  34. Bomet Woman County Representative-elect Linet Chepkorir alias Toto (elected unopposed)
  35. Didmus Barasa – Kimilili, Bungoma County
  36. Brighton Yegon – Konoin, Bomet County
  37. Hussein Abdi – Tarbaj, Wajir County
Share this story
Chebukati to announce winner of presidential election this week
The electoral agency has until Tuesday, August 16 to announce the winner of the presidential contest.
Ruto's home turf calm as vote tallying continues
Residents describe election as peaceful, police say no untoward incidents have been reported even as declaration of results hit by delays.