Talanta lead Super League award nominations ahead of tomorrow’s gala

FC Talanta celebrating at the GEMS Cambridge School after receiving trophy and medals from FKF for winning the 2020/21 Betika National Super League. Sept 5, 2021. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

The 2020/21 National Super League Awards Gala will be held tomorrow at the Nairobi Serena Hotel.

The event will reward deserving players and coaches who thrived during the season, which was held under unprecedented conditions due to the Covid-19 pandemic, which saw the season halted twice before resuming.

NSL champions FC Talanta lead the way ahead of the gala with six nominations after their stellar performance that saw them promoted to the FKF Premier League next season alongside Fortune Sacco.

There will be a total of 12 categories to be awarded the top being the Most Valuable Player. Apart from the MVP, the other main categories to be awarded in the black-tie event are the Team Fair Play award, Coach of the Year, Young Player of the year, Golden Glove (Best Goalkeeper), Defender of the year, the Best Midfielder, the Golden Boot winner (Top Scorer), and Team of the year,

Also to be feted in different categories are the best Referee, the Assistant Referee of the Year, and the President’s Award.

The event will be held under the strict guidance of the Covid-19 protocols as outlined by the Ministry of Health. [Washington Onyango]

1. Fair Play Award (Team)

Fortune Sacco FC
Kibera Black Stars FC
Vihiga Bullets FC

2. Coach of the Year

Ken Kenyatta (FC Talanta)
Edward Manoah (Vihiga Bullets FC)
Benedict Simiyu (APS Bomet FC)
Salim Babu (Kisumu Allstars FC)
Elvis Ayany (Kibera Black Stars FC)

3. Young Player of the Year

Alfred Tanui (Kisumu Allstars FC)
Alvin Ochieng (Kisumu Allstars FC)
Ben Stanley Omondi (Migori Youth FC)
Brian Michira (Shabana FC)
Kayci Odhiambo (Mt. Kenya United FC)

4. Golden Glove

Bonphas Munyasa (APS Bomet FC)
Frankline Mwenda (Kibera Black Stars FC)
Gedion Ogweno (Migori Youth FC)
Kevin Otieno (FC Talanta)
Portipher Odhiambo (Vihiga Bullets FC)

5. Midfielder of the year

Antony Gicho (FC Talanta)
Bonface Kweyu (Vihiga Bullets FC)
 Brian Michira (Shabana FC)
Daniel Mutahi (Gusii FC)
Vincent Owino (Fortune Sacco FC)

6. Golden Boot

Alfred Emoni (Kisumu Allstars FC)
Cornelius Juma (Mwatate United FC)
Felix Oluoch (APS Bomet FC)
Jackson Oketch (Vihiga Bullets FC)
Samuel Ndung’u (Kenya Police FC)

7. Team of the year

FC Talanta
Kenya Police FC
Vihiga Bullets FC

8. Most Valuable Player

Alfred Tanui (Kisumu Allstars FC)
Anthony Gicho (FC Talanta)
Bonphas Munyasa (APS Bomet FC)
Cornelius Juma (Mwatate United FC)
Portipher Odhiambo (Vihiga Bullets FC)

9. Defender of the Year

Alvin Ochieng (Kisumu Allstars FC)
Chris Wilunda (APS Bomet FC)
Faustine Samaki (Kenya Police FC)
Nichodemus Malika (FC Talanta)
Portipher Odhiambo (Vihiga Bullets FC)


Share this story
Nairobi gets ready for Kip Keino Classic action
Organisers of the Kip Keino Classic Continental Tour yesterday launched the Saturday event as Athletics Kenya and Ministry of Sports promised to host
Diabetes: Insulin now an essential drug
Listing NCDs is a relief to Kenyans like 65-year-old Kahuho Mathai from Nyeri County, who was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and high blood pressure.