Baringo South MP elect Charles Kamuren (center) with Baringo North MP William Cheptumo (left), Baringo governor Stanley Kiptis (second right) and Amos Olempaka hold hands in Solidarity at Marigat High School after Kamuren was declared winner on August 18,2018. [Kipsang Joseph, Standard]

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has declared Charles Kamuren as the winner of Baringo South Constituency seat in a hotly contested by-election.

IEBC declared Charles Kamuren of Jubilee Party winner, Saturday morning after compiling votes from all polling stations in the constituency.

Kamuren got 12,777 votes, with Cynthia Kipchilat of Maendeleo Chap Chap second after getting 8,968.

Chama Cha Mashinani’s Paul Kimaru Motoloi was third with355 votes while Mr Sylvester Sergon of Republican Labour Party got 17 votes.

Voter turnout was at 61.48 percent, according to the IEBC results. 21,617 votes were cast in the constituency that has 35,162 registered voters.