Teams Tangatanga, Kieleweke will not influence how Mt Kenya region will vote in 2022 | PERSPECTIVE

Ever since the October 26, 2017 repeat presidential election, the ruling Jubilee Party has seen a torrid time.

Ranging from the resignation of the deputy vice chairperson David Murathe. This was after he made a series of allegations against DP William Ruto, whom he accuses of scuttling party nominations in central region, by rigging in his close allies at the expense of better candidates.

The party has also seen the ‘split’ of the party into two factions that have since been baptized ‘team Tangatanga’ and ‘team Kieleweke’. Team Tangatanga is composed of DP Ruto allies, who are insisting that the current second in command should be Jubilee’s automatic presidential flag bearer come 2022, and that President Uhuru Kenyatta and MT. Kenya region should return the favor and endorse him. It’s members include but not limited to MPs Kimani Ichungwa, Kimani Ngunjiri, Ndindi Nyoro, Benjamin Washiali, Didmus Barasa, Oscar Sudi,Caleb Kositany.

Team Kieleweke on the other side maintain that the Central Region does not owe automatic votes to DP Ruto come 2022. It consists of MPs Ngunjiri Wambugu, Maina Kamanda, Joshua Kutuny, William Kamket, Gathoni Wamuchomba just to name but a few.

According to political commentator Kipchumba Karoli, these two factions will have no say when it comes to deciding which presidential candidate the Central Region will be voting for, insisting that it is still too early to start campaigning at this moment.