Since 1902

IEBC officials in these 11,155 polling stations to travel before sending election results

IEBC has released a list of polling stations with poor or without network coverage that will allow effective transmission of results seamlessly to tallying centers.

In a public notice, the commission has announced that out of the 40,883 polling stations in the country, 11,155 were out of 4G, 3G or GSM coverage throughout 45 counties.

The commission has said it has directed presiding officers from these areas to move to where there is network access so as to send results and that they had provided satellite devices to all the 290 constituency tallying centers in a bid to enhance result transmission rates.

According to the notice, Kisii County has the highest number of affected polling stations at 922 followed by Muranga County that has 916 affected stations and Homabay has 892 stations without reliable network access.

Siaya, Kisumu, Busia, Migori County have 775, 579, 641 and 528 stations respectively.

Vihiga County has 440 stations likely to have transmission challenges over network inefficiency while Baringo, Nyeri, Mandera and Turkana County have 378, 428, 329 and 468 stations in that order.