Murkomen expresses reservations regarding ranking of Senators

By Vincent Kejitan | Thursday, Jul 9th 2020 at 10:59
Share this story:

Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen on Wednesday expressed his reservations regarding the recent ranking of senators by Mzalendo Watch.

Taking to Twitter, Murkomen stated that the body was creating the impression that his performance was under par.

Further, the senator argued that the report was misleading members of the public.

“Mzalendo is creating the impression that my performance was under par. Not that it matters but I think they are misleading members of the public,” he tweeted.

The post attracted a number of reactions, many wondering what was used to measure the performance of senators.

“But what is the yardstick of performance? Legislative achievements in terms of bills introduced by a senator and passed into law or oral verbosity and theatrics?” asked Senior Counsel Ahmednasir Abdullahi.

“For me, it is first an MPs contribution to the Appropriation Bill & he succeeds in it to allocate development to his Village and then, the Bills initiated by the MP to fix societal ills,” opined lawyer Donald Kipkorir.

Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina and his counterpart Johnson Sakaja (Nairobi) were ranked among the best performing governors by Mzalendo Watch.

The body, which tracks the activities of Kenyan legislators, ranked Ole Kina as the top-performing senator, followed by Moses Wetangula (Bungoma), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho) and Ochilo Ayako (Migori).

Sakaja was ranked as the top performing youth in the senate followed by Samson Cherargei (Nandi), Aaron Cheruiyot (Kericho) and Moses Kajwang’ (Homabay).

109 was considered as the average speech count in the senate and the report indicated that 60% of the senators scored way below that.

The ‘most silent’ senators were Mercy Chebeni (Nominated), Christine Zawadi (Nominated), Philip Mpaayei (Kajiado), Amos Wako (Busia) and Halima Abdille (Nominated).

On account of the number of speeches, ODM was ranked as the best-performing party, followed by Jubilee and ANC.

Share this story:
Other related topics:

Latest Stories