Law enforcers must act with civility – Ruto says as curfew continues

By Fay Ngina | Sunday, Mar 29th 2020 at 09:09
Share this story:

Deputy President William Ruto has asked law enforcers to act with ‘restraint and civility’ as the current nationwide curfew enters day three over the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic in the country. 

Ruto’s plea to police officers enforcing the 7 pm to 5 am curfew comes after several Kenyans complained on social media over the brutality of the men and women in blue.

The Deputy President, while defending the directive imposed by President Uhuru Kenyatta, urged Kenyans to comply with terms adding that citizens should treat the pandemic as a ‘very serious’ issue.

“Fellow citizens, the corona pandemic is serious, VERY SERIOUS. The GoK curfew (partial lockdown) is meant to curtail movement so as to reduce spread of virus.”

“Us All MUST comply with the terms of curfew without EXCEPTION. Law enforcers MUST act firmly but with restraint & civility,” said Ruto.

On Wednesday, March 25, President Uhuru announced the curfew in a bid to restrict movement to avoid further spread of the disease.

“Effective Friday, there will be a daily curfew from 7 pm to 5 am on all territories of Kenya…All movement by persons not authorized to do so or not being medical professionals, health workers, critical and essential services providers are prohibited between those hours,” said President Uhuru.

The essential providers authorized to be outside during the curfew include;

Medical professionals and health workers, National Security Administration and Coordination officers, Public Health and Sanitation officers from the counties, licensed pharmacies and drug stores, Kenya Power, food dealers wholesalers, and transporters, licensed supermarkets, mini-supermarkets and hypermarkets, licensed retailers and distributors of petroleum products, licensed telecommunication operators and service providers, licensed banks, financial institutions, and payment services, licensed security firms and fire brigade.

On Saturday, Health CS Mutahi Kagwe announced seven new coronavirus cases in the country, bringing the total to 38.

“All the 7 cases are from Nairobi County…this now puts Nairobi County as leading with 28 cases of those who have so far turned positive; Kilifi has 6, Mombasa has 2, while Kajiado and Kwale have one each,” said Kagwe.

Share this story:
Other related topics:

Latest Stories