How Catholic University is preparing for home lectures in case Coronavirus strikes

By Nzioka Justin | Tuesday, Mar 10th 2020 at 10:09
Share this story:

Since its outbreak in late December 2019, the Covid-19 has claimed over 3,800 lives. Infection spread has also risen beyond 110,000 cases, as reported by the World Health Organization (WHO).

What began as a mere outbreak in Wuhan City in China, has now become a global threat. Various firms have developed mechanisms to deliver from home in attempts to curb its spread.

Hundreds of institutions have closed down globally, affecting millions of learners. Currently, no case has been reported in Kenya, with the government establishing measures to fight the menace in case it strikes.

In preparation attempts, the Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA) has come up with plans to handle content delivery to the learners from home, in case the Covid-19 is reported in the country.

CUEA has called upon all lecturers to develop structured online modules for all courses currently being offered. This is in preparation for online teaching from home, in case the killer disease is reported.

"I hereby direct all teaching staff to develop online teaching modules for all units they are teaching this semester so that they can be uploaded to the university academic online platform," read part of the notice by the university's Vice-Chancellor Stephen Ngari.

Time seems to be running out for the lecturers to complete the said assignment, whose deadline is March 20. The submissions must be in soft copies.

A majority of firms worldwide have now advised their staff to work from home, to minimize the spread.

The menace has brought about increased demand for protective masks, with Kenya's manufacturer and distributors struggling to meet demand by health facilities and pharmacies.

Recently, Kenya banned importations for protective masks due to the outbreak. The disease reportedly spreads through coughing and sneezing.

African countries with already confirmed cases include Senegal, South Africa, Nigeria, Tunisia, Morocco, Egypt, Togo, Algeria, and Cameroon.

Share this story:
Other related topics:

Latest Stories