Kakamega Primary School releases list of pupils who perished in tragedy

By Nzioka Justin | Thursday, Feb 6th 2020 at 08:59
Share this story:

Identities for the dead Kakamega primary school pupils have been successfully completed, while burial arrangements are set for next week. 

Kakamega County Boss Wycliffe Oparanya established a group that will help the families in preparation for their beloved's send-offs. 

All of the fallen pupils will be laid to rest next week, with both national and devolved governments pledging to assist the families in according decent send-off to their children. 

Operations in the institution were put on hold until next Monday, to allow investigations towards the tragedy. Following the unfortunate occurrence, 36 pupils got treated and discharged, while eight others are still in the hospital, among them, two being in the Intensive Care Unit. 

Local leaders have urged for thorough investigations, while governor Oparanya termed the happening as an abnormal. 

"There must be something that happened to cause this, and I commit to you that we shall find out what it was," Kakamega County Commissioner affirmed to the residents.

Deputy President William Ruto, together with the Education Cs George Magoha, called upon the investigators to ensure that the matter comes to a conclusion. DP Ruto added that investigators had sufficient time to conduct their investigations. 

"Whether it is the structure of the building or it was a mishap, whatever it was, we are giving the security team enough time so that they can get to the bottom of this so that this never happens again in any other school," said the DP, during his Tuesday visit to the accident scene. 

The school administration has already made public, the list of the deceased pupils as follows;

1. Prince Vermaline,

2. Bertha Munywele,

3. Simon Waweru,

4. Lavender Akasa,

5. Joseph Musami,

6. Naila Kiverenge,

7. Fidel Kumbetie, 

8. Samuel Simekha,

9. June Nakhumicha, 

10. Prudence Eliza,

11. Catherine Aloo,

12. Antonnet Iramwenya,

13. Nichole Achola,

14. Venessa Adesa.

Share this story:
Other related topics:

Latest Stories