How digital news organisations, journalists and students can now apply and win awards

By Ureport | Thursday, May 16th 2019 at 13:39
Share this story:

Are you a digital news organization, a digital journalist or a student who has a passion for writing? Here is your chance to apply and win an award.

You can now submit your entries for the 2019 Online Journalism Awards recognizing excellence in digital reporting courtesy of the Online News Association (ONA).

The categories for award include data journalism, visual digital storytelling, investigative journalism to public service, technical innovation, general excellence and more.

ONA has also introduced two new categories that is, excellence in engaged journalism and digital video storytelling.

The awards offer a total of US$58,500 in prize money, courtesy of the Knight Foundation, the Gannett Foundation, Journalism 360 and the University of Florida.

Awards will be given at the Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet September 12 to 14 in New Orleans. The OJAs, launched in 2000, are a comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism. You can view a list of the 2018 winners here. 

Entries must have published between June 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019. Although English translations are strongly recommended, works may be submitted in any language. 

The deadline is June 6. The entry fee is US$100 for ONA members, US$175 for non-members, US$15 for student members and US$50 for student non-members.

All the best!

Share this story:
Other related topics:

Latest Stories