× Digital News Videos Africa Health & Science Opinion Columnists Education Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Planet Action Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS


KCB SAFARI RALLY: Chatthe does it yet again as 21 drivers out 42 finished the demanding world famous rally

By Odero Charles | Jun 12th 2016 | 4 min read
Kabras Sugar Racing team Onkar Rai navigated by Gareth Dawe in a Mitsubishi Car number 11 action at Lake Elementaita Lodge on Saturday, June 11, 2016. [PHOTO: JONAH ONYANGO/STANDARD]

Jaspreet Singh Chatthe navigated by Gurdeep Panesar in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 10 R4 machine racked up his second straight KCB Safari Rally title on the 64th edition of the world-famous event following three days of hair raising thrills around Naivasha and Nairobi.

And Chatthe, who is the reigning African and Kenyan champion did it in sheer bravado in the dusty and demanding volcanic ash soil terrain.

His calm and assured march to final service at Elementaita Lodge in Naivasha belied the excitement that was bubbling underneath - and at exactly 4pm, it spilled over in a solid stream of joy at the Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC) finish ramp.

Jassi, as he is fondly referred to by fans, found himself propelled to the summit of Safari when some other KNRC speedsters among them Tapio, Baldev Chager and Carl Tundo suffered mechanical gremlins in the second leg on Saturday.

Rajbir Rai, who dominated the better part of Day Two took second place despite a 2:10minutes penalty he incurred for a late check in late at TC7.

Albeit winning two of the three stages on day 3, Flying Finn Tapio Laukkanen sealed the podium dash incidentally 8.39minutes behind the winner.

Navigated by Pasi Torma in a Subaru GVB 13 Tapio was left to rue the three punctures he picked up on both loops of Day 2 which was the longest and toughest of the Kenya Motor Sport Club organised rally.

Chatthe's navigator Gugu Panesar had this to say after guiding Chatthe to two straight Safari wins.

"We are very happy to have won the Safari for the second time running. Jassi drove extremely well this weekend. We had a good pace all through, the rhythm was really good. We also took it very cleanly on the technical sections just to ensure we do not clip any rocks," said Chatthe's navigator Panesar.

Ian Duncan came in fourth followed by Tundo, who is expected to unveil his new rally monster (a Ford) in due course.

"We had two punctures, no breaks, no diff, so the car had its own issues. We borrowed it from Onkar because our new car wasn't here yet. The new car comes next week so hopefully it will be ready for the next Rally," said Tundo.

Out of 42 drivers who entered the event, only 21 survived the demanding conditions.

Eric Njogu finished in a career best 8th thus clinching his maiden KNRC top 10.

Osman Abdullahi only on his second KNRC outing took 13th overall which was a repeat of his début on Kisumu Rally last month.

Alex Lairang'i won the 2WD class while Ramesh Vishram was the sole finisher in the classic car category.

Duncan won Group N,, Edward Maina Group S and Asad Khan 'Kalulu" SPV class in a modified Subaru GC8.

Newly elected KMSF and veteran rally driver Phineas Kimathi who attended the ceremonial finish alongside Sports PS Richard Ekai said his priory will be to make Safari an international event.

Phineas thanked Liquid Telecom for the unprecedented live stream of the Elementaita spectator stage.

The event was co-sponsored by Liquid Telecom, Toyota Kenya and Jacaranda Hotels.

Mombasa Motor Club will stage the fourth round of the KCB KNRC in Rukinga, Voi next on 23rd of July.

Overall Results -64th KCB Safari Rally 2016

1.Jaspreet Chatthe/Gurdeep Panesar (Mitsubishi Evo10), 2hr.21mins.49secs,

2. Rajbir Rai /Greg Stead (Ford Fiesta) 2.24.09,

3.Tapio Laukkanen/Pasi Torma (Subaru Impreza) 2.30.28,

4. Ian Duncan/Amaar Slatch (Mitsubishi Evo10)2.31.42,

5. Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop (Mitsubishi Evo10) 2.32.49,

6. Onkar Rai /Gareth Dawe (Mitsubishi Evo10) 2.34.98

7. Farhaaz Khan/Keith Henrie (Mitsubishi Evo9) 2.47.59

8. Eric Njogu /Tony Kimondo (Subaru IMpreza N10) 2.49.29

9. Mahesh Halai /Ketan Halai (Subaru Impreza N12) 2.5.4,7

10. Asad Khan/Harshil Limbani (Subaru Impreza GC8) 2.56.52

11. Natasha Tundo/Chantal Young (Subaru Impreza) 3.11.30

12. Edward Maina/Steve Mbuthia (Subaru GC8) 3:16.43

13. Osman Abdullahi/Evans Mwenda (Subaru N19) 3:19.28

14. Chandrakant Devji/Julius Mwachuya (Subaru Impreza GC8) 3.22.29

15. Adil Mirza/Kashif Shaikh (Mitsubishi Evo9) 3.2341

16. Alex Lairangi/Anthony Gichohi (Toyota's Sprinter GT) 3:26.02

17. Ramesh Vishram/Riyaz Ismail (Ford Escort) 2.34.36

18. Josiah Kariuki/John Ngugi (Subaru N11) 3:31.14

19.Geoff Mayes/Jamie Macavish (Land Rover Discovery) 3:36.12

20. Nikhil Sachania/Salim Khan (Fiat Abarth) 3:48.27

21. Leonardo Varese/Kigo Kareithi (Toyota Corolla RSI) 4:44.27

Category Results


1. Jassi Chatthe

2. Rajbir Rai

3. Tapio Laukkanen


1. Ramesh Vishram


1.Asad Khan 'Kalulu"

2. Adil Mirza

3. Geoff Mayes

S Class

1. Edward Maina

2. Chandu


1. Alex Lairangi

2. Leonardo Varese

Group N

Ian Duncan

Carl Tundo

Farhaaz Khan

Share this story
UEFA threatens Russia, England with Euro disqualification
UEFA said Sunday that Russia and England could be thrown out of the European Championship finals if their fans are involved in more violence.
When Njonjo almost resigned over coffee smugglers
Known as the era of black gold, it began in 1976 when Ugandan farmers decided to sell their coffee in the private market.