Governors now want the appointment, salaries of all county staff harmonised

Council of Governors (COG) chairperson Anne Waiguru (center) while addressing the press in Naivasha after their retreat on October 13, 2022. [Kipsang Joseph, Standard]

The Council of Governors (CoG) has unanimously moved amendments to the County Governments Act on the appointment and tenure of County Chief Officers. 

The governors tasked the Lynn Mengich-led Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) to work with them and help harmonise the salaries and benefits of all officers in the counties. 

“The Salaries and Remuneration Commission shall review job descriptions of the governors’ appointees and award salaries commensurate to their roles,” said CoG chair Anne Waiguru.

She said the SRC in collaboration with the COG will review the Transition Authority 2013 circulars on advisors to reflect the current labour market trends and allow traction of competent officers.

Waiguru released the communique after conclusion of a two-day retreat themed ‘Public Finance, Procurement and Human Resource Management in Counties: What Works?’ held at the Great Rift Valley Lodge in Naivasha.

The governors said they had agreed that the National Treasury will disburse the funds due to county governments within the statutory timelines.

On county budgeting, financing, and audit, Waiguru said the Controller of Budget and the Central Bank of Kenya will establish an automation system by December so as to eliminate the movement of county officers to Nairobi for clearance of payments.

She said Treasury, the CoG and the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) will have working committees to develop position papers on how to handle, among others, the payment of salaries of Early Childhood Educators and classification of development spending.

She announced that a meeting will be held soon between the CoG and the Equalisation Fund Board.

In the meeting, governors will be briefed on the structures of the Board, its governing regulatory framework, and the flow of funds to concerned counties.