× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours Basketball Athletics Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Motorsport Sports Health Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Mukansanga to lead all-female officiating line-up at Cup of Nations

WOMEN IN SPORTS By Reuters | January 18th 2022 | 1 min read
Meet Salima Mukansanga, the first woman set to referee an AFCON game [photo courtesy]

Rwandan referee Salima Mukansanga will lead an all-female line-up of match officials at the Africa Cup of Nations encounter between Guinea and Zimbabwe on Tuesday, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) announced.

It will be the first time only women will officiate a game at Africa’s flagship international tournament.

Mukansanga will take charge alongside assistants Carine Atemzabong from Cameroon and Fatiha Jermoumi of Morocco. The Video Assistant Referee will be another Moroccan, Bouchra Karboubi.

Mukansanga had been the fourth official in the clash between Guinea and Malawi on Jan. 10.

"She (Mukansanga) has had to overcome serious obstacles to reach this level and she deserves a lot of credit," CAF Head of Referees Eddy Maillet said in a statement.

"This moment is not just for Salima but for every young girl in Africa who has passion for football and who sees herself as a referee in the future."

Share this story
Lewandowski and Putellas win FIFA Best awards
Bayern Munich's Polish striker Robert Lewandowski won the FIFA Best Men's Player award for 2021 with Barcelona's Spanish midfielder Alexia Putellas wi
Classic Rally: Only drivers who completes entire course to be classified
The tenth edition of the East African Safari Classic Rally ( EASCR) has attracted 50 drivers from 13 countries among them double champion Ian Duncan.